Topic Sponsor
2009 - 2014 Ford F150 General discussion on 2009 - 2014 Ford F150 truck.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

New to F150s/Pickups Must have add-ons/options?

Search this Thread

Old 09-02-2014, 05:02 PM

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts

Default New to F150s/Pickups Must have add-ons/options?

Just picked up a new F150 Lariat Ecoboost shortbed over this past weekend. I'm brand new to pickups, but have owned an Expedition with the 5.4L for 10+ years. Since that is an all enclosed vehicle, there wasn't much to mod there. Been an awesome, trouble-free truck and will miss it, but looking forward to more capable tow vehicle.

The first thing that comes to my mind when I look at the pickup is the exposed bed - no spray in liner or cover, just a tailgate extender. With Winter not too far away, I'm thinking that needs to get attention first. Soooo many options there. Would love your guy's opinions on MUST haves on bed options and more! Thanks!
Old 09-02-2014, 05:12 PM
Raptor Minion

Received 136 Likes on 105 Posts

A tonneau cover and some sort of bedliner protection would seem in order. There are tons of options. I prefer the spray on bedliner, but other folks do not. I hear a lot of good things about Line-X, but mine came as a factory option.

On covers, you can spend as little as $300 as much as $2000. Depends on how much protection you want, both from theft or from elements. This will all depend on your budget and needs. Roll-X is a very popular brand I am looking into, but its about $600. I got a Bestop cover for $300 and its OK, but doesn't completely seal the bed and I wouldn't store anything valuable in the back now.