Topic Sponsor
2009 - 2014 Ford F150 General discussion on 2009 - 2014 Ford F150 truck.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Just making sure this is normal...

Old 04-09-2014, 03:58 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Just making sure this is normal...

Hey all. I've been a long time lurker on this site and thanks to you all helped me decide on my '13 Fx2 Screw which I purchased in November. I've got about 8K miles on it now, mostly highway, however, I have a question of MPG's and it reads on my truck. I've read through a lot of posts about our truck's MPG's, but none seem to address what I've seen. First off, I'm not expecting it to be a honda civic by any means, but I will try and describe what I've been seeing to see if this is normal behavior.

I've got the Ecoboost engine - My computer tells me i'm averaging about 17.9 mpg which is completely fine to me. However, and excuse me for being a noob here, I notice that at certain times and points, my "miles to empty" can be erratic. I live in Atlanta and its just now been getting warm, but in the mornings when I went to work in the winter, I would remote start my truck to get it warm. After about 5 or so minutes, maybe more, I'd jump in and head out. Within the first 30 or so minutes, I can see my miles-to-empty just depleting rapidly. If I start out at say 150, in about 5 minutes, I could be under 100 or even 80. Whenever it stops sucking down gas, it will stay at number range for awhile...as if balancing out sort of. Is this normal? Is this because of the cold? Another thing is today, the truck was already warm and I started the truck and I had 83 miles till empty. I drive for about a minute and I glance down and I'm at 70. I hadn't floored it and there's no way I drove 13 miles! And finally, I've noticed that once the low fuel notification comes on, around 50 or so miles to empty, it seems to drink more and more gas and that miles to empty goes down in no time. Is that thing accurate? Is everything fine?