Go Back   Ford F150 Forum - Community of Ford Truck Fans > Late Model F150s > 2009 - Present Ford F150
Sign in using an external account
Register Forgot Password?
Register Garage Photos FAQ Members List Social Groups Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read StoreVendor Directory

Welcome to F150 Forum!
Welcome to F150 Forum,

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, at no cost, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!


Reply
 
 
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-04-2009, 07:47 AM   #1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 104
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default Instrument cluster reset / reboot ??

I hope I'm not the first to encounter this problem and there is a fix out there for it.

I've got 20000 km on my F150 FX4 now. Had it for about 5 months. I was driving on the highway at about 120km / 70 mph and for about one second all the warning lights on the instrument cluster came on - kinda like they would if the truck lost power or the key was turned just one notch before you start. All the gauges went to 0 (fuel, temp, tach, speedometer).

The rest of the truck was unaffected. There was no loss of power. My radio stayed on etc. It was just the electronics of the cluster.

Within one second it went back to normal.

Being a software guy things looks like there was some bug in the firmware or something and something rebooted / reset right away. Good that it did that. However, it would suck to be the only guy that has this problem because given that it has occurred one time in 5 months, they will never figure this out.

Anyone else have anything to report here? I hear that there have been flashes for the instrument cluster. None have been applied to my truck - it was made around the end of May 2009.

My first step might have to be to go and get the firmware updated to the newest levels.
canoetrpr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2009, 10:17 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
NorCal-09's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: After 20 + years in the foothills of the Sierras; I am now [back] in the south-end of Sunny SoCal!
Posts: 2,103
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 14
Thanked 61 Times in 42 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by canoetrpr View Post
I hope I'm not the first to encounter this problem and there is a fix out there for it.

I've got 20000 km on my F150 FX4 now. Had it for about 5 months. I was driving on the highway at about 120km / 70 mph and for about one second all the warning lights on the instrument cluster came on - kinda like they would if the truck lost power or the key was turned just one notch before you start. All the gauges went to 0 (fuel, temp, tach, speedometer).

The rest of the truck was unaffected. There was no loss of power. My radio stayed on etc. It was just the electronics of the cluster.

Within one second it went back to normal.

Being a software guy things looks like there was some bug in the firmware or something and something rebooted / reset right away. Good that it did that. However, it would suck to be the only guy that has this problem because given that it has occurred one time in 5 months, they will never figure this out.

Anyone else have anything to report here? I hear that there have been flashes for the instrument cluster. None have been applied to my truck - it was made around the end of May 2009.

My first step might have to be to go and get the firmware updated to the newest levels.

My opinion, if this has only happened, one time, and only for a second or two, in the entire time you have had the truck, in essence a 'hiccup', I would not worry about it, for now, or until it comes up again. Especially since driveabiltiy is not an issue here.

Recently, I had my AT temp guage (only) dive to zero on multiple times, over the past 1.5 months. There was a TSB in the system for this specific issue and so when I was in for service last week they reflashed this component and all is well since.

Without a specific TSB and without it doing it for them while in the shop, or a code in the computer (unlikely) they most likely will not take any action for now.

Last edited by NorCal-09; 12-04-2009 at 10:53 AM. Reason: Typo
NorCal-09 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2009, 12:35 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 104
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default

I think the reflash you are referring to is for the instrument cluster. I might get them to reflash my instrument cluster to the latest level of the firmware.
canoetrpr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2009, 07:33 AM   #4
Senior Member
5 Year Member
 
2000xl_toronto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Oshawa, Ontario
Posts: 1,696
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 9 Times in 5 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default

yeah if they've already come up with a firmware update for the cluster it's definately not going to hurt to get it flashed.
__________________
2011 F-150 XLT SCAB 5.0
2000xl_toronto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2011, 10:36 AM   #5
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default

I own an 07 F150. This has happened to me twice in the past week first time it lasted for about 15 seconds. Yesterday it lasted longer than a minute. The only thing in common with both instances was that I was in a turn when it happened. And the only maintenance recently was I had to buy a new battery recently
Malvelo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2011, 11:06 AM   #6
Member
 
Rickshaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Terrace B.C. Canada
Posts: 48
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 1
Thanked 4 Times in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default

The instrument cluster in the F150 will hold its own DTC's (diagnostic trouble code's). You can check this by starting the cluster in Engineering mode. If you have a reset button on the steering wheel all you have to do is:
1) with the truck off, insert the key in the ignition
2) Hold down the reset button
3) rotate the key to the RUN position (not start)
4) keep holding the RESET button untill the message center reads ENGINEERING MODE
(about 5 seconds)
5) you can now start the engine if you wish (not required)

Now your in! If you dont have the message center it should still work by holding the odometer reset button while completing the same sequence.

Now there will be a bunch of different parameters you can view by just hitting the RESET button. keep cycling through untill you get to a screen that reads STORED DTC. If any codes come up here, get it into the dealer. I don't think that the code will be useful to yourself as they are ford specific codes that only the dealer can de-code.
To exit engineer mode just hit the INFO button.

If you still have questions just ask!
Rickshaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2011, 11:30 AM   #7
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default

Where exactly is the reset button? And thanks for the info you sent!
Malvelo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2011, 12:35 PM   #8
Senior Member
5 Year Member
 
2000xl_toronto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Oshawa, Ontario
Posts: 1,696
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 9 Times in 5 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rickshaw View Post
The instrument cluster in the F150 will hold its own DTC's (diagnostic trouble code's). You can check this by starting the cluster in Engineering mode. If you have a reset button on the steering wheel all you have to do is:
1) with the truck off, insert the key in the ignition
2) Hold down the reset button
3) rotate the key to the RUN position (not start)
4) keep holding the RESET button untill the message center reads ENGINEERING MODE
(about 5 seconds)
5) you can now start the engine if you wish (not required)

Now your in! If you dont have the message center it should still work by holding the odometer reset button while completing the same sequence.

Now there will be a bunch of different parameters you can view by just hitting the RESET button. keep cycling through untill you get to a screen that reads STORED DTC. If any codes come up here, get it into the dealer. I don't think that the code will be useful to yourself as they are ford specific codes that only the dealer can de-code.
To exit engineer mode just hit the INFO button.

If you still have questions just ask!
nice post I didn't realize the newer ones still had this feature!
__________________
2011 F-150 XLT SCAB 5.0
2000xl_toronto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2011, 12:47 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
bcb97's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: TN
Posts: 1,015
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 29 Times in 23 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default

Lots of threads out there about electrical problems. From what I have seen most of it was because of loose grounds.
__________________
2011 5.0L 4x4 Off Road Package, Supercab. Mods: Weathertechs, Tint, Blinker Mod, JLT Oil Catch Can, Tonnopro Trifold Hard Cover

bcb97 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2011, 01:15 PM   #10
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default

Got the codes out. It gave me 4 codes Took a minute to figure it out but then it worked like you said. Unfortunately will have to wait for Monday. Thanks for the help!
Malvelo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2011, 01:15 PM
 
 
 
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Instrument Cluster Povidone 1997 - 2003 Ford F150 2 08-20-2012 05:51 AM
instrument cluster cabinetinstaller 1987 - 1996 F150 7 02-02-2009 12:21 AM
Instrument cluster chavez1987 General F150 Discussion 0 01-11-2009 10:52 PM
Instrument Cluster Removal Help dustin9779 1987 - 1996 F150 3 11-24-2008 07:47 AM
Instrument Cluster Brian Laube 2004 - 2008 Ford F150 5 05-25-2008 08:44 PM

 

The Mustang Source

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:43 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
SEO by vBSEO 3.5.2
Copyright 2006 - 20011 F150forum.com
This site is in no way affiliated with the Ford Motor Company.


Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.