Hard to program garage door - Ford F150 Forum - Community of Ford Truck Fans



Hard to program garage door

Reply
 
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-15-2012, 02:15 PM   #1
Member
Thread Starter
 
gigivr6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: St-Jérôme, Québec
Posts: 31
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Hard to program garage door

Hi, anyone has experience trouble when programming your garage door?

I tried many Times but it doesn't work? I have a fx4 2012 and the garage door is a crafstman... With a learn button on the back... Suppose to be easy but it isn't!

Amy advice???
gigivr6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2012, 02:32 PM   #2
Junior Member
 
Cantari's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Panama City Beach, FL
Posts: 10
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Read the truck manual directions?
Cantari is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2012, 03:04 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Montucky
Posts: 251
Thanked 29 Times in 23 Posts
Default

I can't get mine to work either. My garage door motor is only 6 years old but I guess that's too old to work with the built in feature.
Teddek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2012, 03:05 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Montucky
Posts: 251
Thanked 29 Times in 23 Posts
Default

Ah, and I have a Genie garage door opener.
Teddek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2012, 03:25 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Wichita
Posts: 153
Thanks: 0
Thanked 7 Times in 6 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Teddek
Ah, and I have a Genie garage door opener.
I also have a Genie, and it won't work. I have followed the manual step-by-step.
kingement is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2012, 04:44 PM   #6
got mule?
 
scorpio333's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 620
Thanked 46 Times in 32 Posts
Default

Mine worked...sort of. Definitely took multiple attempts. One is a Craftsman, the other a Liftmaster. I swear at one point the button on the right opened the right side and the button on the left did the left. The middle button was left alone. Then my wife said her remote didn't work. Programmed that, broke the truck. Now the right does the right and the left does both doors. Didn't think you could do two separate doors at once. Sometime I'm going to try left on the left - middle for both - right for right.
scorpio333 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2012, 05:01 PM   #7
Sarcastic Soul
 
PaBEAR's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: PA
Posts: 177
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
Default

Didn't have any problem with mine. Only issue I had was it took twice pressing the learn button (Craftsman). Also we lost power long enough the garage door opener itself lost programming so I had to do all my remotes. If not a rolling code type you can do it but it takes a lot more time and effort. If you don't like reading the manual, there's a little video on the Ford owner site that walks you through the basics of both types.
PaBEAR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2012, 05:09 PM   #8
Member
5 Year Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: North Alabama
Posts: 61
Thanked 4 Times in 3 Posts
Default

I tried to program my 2012, but had problems. I called the number listed in the OM, and spoke with Ford's supplier for the devise. After giving them the make/model, they informed me I must purchase an adapter, I think it was $30 per door. I am disappointed in the fact the garage door opener feature does not work, and I have to purchase adapters (outside of the purchase of the truck) to make the feature functional. In my case, my garagedoor system is 20 years old, but my wife's recently purchased 2012 suv (not a Ford) matched up no problem.
Bama Stripes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2012, 06:07 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: New England
Posts: 250
Thanked 19 Times in 15 Posts
Default

Mine worked fine(Craftsman openers). Maybe you aren't getting to the truck fast enough?
Rider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2012, 09:27 PM   #10
Member
5 Year Member
 
nyxltregcab's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Upstate, NY
Posts: 84
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Default

I never had an issue programming. I think the sequence is to hit buttons 1&3 at the same time in the vehicle. Then they all light up. Then RUN to the ladder and hit the learn button, climb back down and run back to the vehicle and hold the button you want programmed until the door starts to move. Release the button, and try it.
I just had to replace my opener last week and bought a new genie that doesn't have a specific learn button, and you definitely need two people to do the sequence. I ended up calling the "car2u" number in the F150 owner's manual, and they can straighten things out, or answer any questions you have.
nyxltregcab is offline   Reply With Quote
 
 
Reply

Related Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
My 4x4 is acting all kinds of crazy....... aswrg7 2009 - 2014 Ford F150 13 10-07-2016 01:08 PM
Justifying the cost of the 'second' vehicle AndyFX4 2009 - 2014 Ford F150 46 09-19-2015 05:38 PM
visor upgrade ,powder wire needed , help Melect 2009 - 2014 Ford F150 11 09-07-2015 10:31 PM
Help with Keyless Entry Saleen9165 Maintenance Shop 4 09-07-2015 11:57 AM
Parts for bed cover by Advantage?? msred 2004 - 2008 Ford F150 0 09-04-2015 05:03 PM


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:29 PM.


Copyright © 2006 - 2016 F150Forum.com