Ford Remote Access app for smart phones - Page 27 - Ford F150 Forum - Community of Ford Truck Fans



     
Old 01-23-2015, 06:10 PM
In This Discussion
 
Last edit by: IB Staff
Issue: Ford Remote Access app review

The Ford Remote Access app is available for both IPhone and Android users to control vehicle features. The app lets you remote start, remote stop, lock, unlock, audible car find, and there is even an optional feature to receive security notifications.

Read to find out more:
  • What, if any, are the costs associated?
  • Do you have to go to the dealer?
  • What hardware is compatible?
  • How well does it work compared with aftermarket devices?
  • What models are compatible?
Print Wikipost

Ford Remote Access app for smart phones

Reply
 
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-11-2013, 05:03 PM   #261
Fleet Technician
 
Rnlcomp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Big Easy
Posts: 14,378
Thanked 2,660 Times in 2,087 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ianinedm View Post
Ya any time you have a cell connection there will be a fee. I would be ok with the annual fee, especially if the cost of all this stops going up.

The viper has a fee as well but I have heard it was cheaper than $50. The other thing about the fees is that they are not set in stone and almost gauranteed to go up.

At this point, i might just go with a new 200 series RMST and leave it at that. My factory one is crappy and i might as well just start the truck manually as i need to be so close to get it to work anyways. The 200 should at least be a clean pnp swap from the 100.

Yeah, I'm going to just stick with my 100 series r/s. I love the fact I don't have to have a separate fob from the key.


.
Rnlcomp is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2013, 05:44 PM   #262
Senior Member
 
SultanGris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: North Dakota
Posts: 7,879
Thanked 349 Times in 275 Posts
Default

$50 a year is peanuts. 13 cents a day, I lose more change than that every time I sit down! Well worth it Even if you only use it one a month , lol!
SultanGris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2013, 06:33 PM   #263
Senior Member
 
ianinedm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 951
Thanked 153 Times in 130 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by PlethoraGreen View Post
Considering the fact I might have to remove the factory remote start that came with my Lariat to use the Remote Access app is pretty appalling to me.

And on an entirely different topic... add in the fact I have a GPS Navigation system that won't allow you to manually enter a Latitude/Longitude and I might have to write a letter to Ford. It won't do any good, but it will make me feel better.
Totally agree. They should at least offer to buy back the 100 series if we're being forced to upgrade it to make this work.

Sometimes you feeling better is all that matters.

[MENTION=50575]SultanGris[/MENTION], if i didn't live in Edmonton with our bitter cold winters, i would probably stick with the 100. Half the time i am too far away just being in my house. I can live with an extra fob in that case.
ianinedm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2013, 07:33 PM   #264
Senior Member
 
SultanGris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: North Dakota
Posts: 7,879
Thanked 349 Times in 275 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ianinedm View Post

Totally agree. They should at least offer to buy back the 100 series if we're being forced to upgrade it to make this work.

Sometimes you feeling better is all that matters.
[MENTION=50575]SultanGris[/MENTION], if i didn't live in Edmonton with our bitter cold winters, i would probably stick with the 100. Half the time i am too far away just being in my house. I can live with an extra fob in that case.
Same here, I'm in North Dakota, can't live without one that works great! Lol
SultanGris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2013, 12:20 PM   #265
Senior Member
5 Year Member
 
vozaday's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Alberta
Posts: 1,209
Thanked 145 Times in 129 Posts
Default

DL3Z-19A390-C has been discontinued by ford according to Tasca
vozaday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2013, 12:36 PM   #266
Senior Member
 
ianinedm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 951
Thanked 153 Times in 130 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vozaday View Post
DL3Z-19A390-C has been discontinued by ford according to Tasca
you sure? I just ordered on on Thursday and got a call from them on Friday that they ordered it from ford and will be here in a few weeks.

However I don't want it anyways. Need to cancel it.
ianinedm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2013, 12:42 PM   #267
Senior Member
5 Year Member
 
vozaday's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Alberta
Posts: 1,209
Thanked 145 Times in 129 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ianinedm View Post
you sure? I just ordered on on Thursday and got a call from them on Friday that they ordered it from ford and will be here in a few weeks.

However I don't want it anyways. Need to cancel it.
Here is what was sent to me today
Attached Thumbnails
Ford Remote Access app for smart phones-image.jpg  
vozaday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2013, 01:01 PM   #268
Member
 
s.whiplash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Maryland
Posts: 96
Thanked 22 Times in 13 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by OSD View Post
I have a 2013 FX4 with remote start and I have it programed to turn on heated/cooled seats (as necessary) and set temp with the remote start. If this remote app. is using the existing remote start then all of these features would still work. It's not just a bowtie thing.
Do your seats cool or heat with the "as necessary" setting for the remote start?

I had it set during the late summer on very hot days and the AC on the seats would not turn on with the remote start. Waiting to see if the heated seats work during the winter.

I don't know why they don't have an on/off setting for the seats and remote start.
s.whiplash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2013, 01:12 PM   #269
Senior Member
 
PlethoraGreen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: WY
Posts: 138
Thanked 25 Times in 18 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by s.whiplash View Post
I don't know why they don't have an on/off setting for the seats and remote start.
There is.

Page 124 - http://www.fordservicecontent.com/Fo.../13f12om3e.pdf
PlethoraGreen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2013, 02:07 PM   #270
Member
 
s.whiplash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Maryland
Posts: 96
Thanked 22 Times in 13 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by PlethoraGreen View Post
Thanks, but the settings for the Remote Start-> Climate Control -> Driver Seat is "Auto" or "Off".

The AC for the seats did not come on on hot days in August with it set to "Auto".

It would be nice if there were an "On" option. I'm running the latest update for the Sony 700W with Nav system in a 2013 F-150.
s.whiplash is offline   Reply With Quote
 
 
Reply

Related Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2013-14 OEM Remote start poor range fix Rnlcomp 2009 - 2014 Ford F150 167 12-01-2016 11:37 PM
How To: 2015 F-150 Front Bumper/Tow Hook Removal boozinbuzz 2015 - Present Ford F150 7 06-02-2016 02:25 AM
600HP, 500ft/lb 3.5L EcoBoost Takeda 3.5L EB 4 02-18-2016 09:13 AM
Lost key, need help getting correct one 5302GWD 2009 - 2014 Ford F150 9 09-05-2015 12:05 AM
MyFord Touch apps link AtlasF150 2015 - Present Ford F150 4 09-03-2015 01:19 AM


Tags
ford remote access, iphone, remote access, remote start, remote starter

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:18 AM.


Copyright 2006 - 2016 F150Forum.com