Go Back   Ford F150 Forum - Community of Ford Truck Fans > Late Model F150s > 2009 - Present Ford F150
Sign in using an external account
Register Forgot Password?


Reply
 
 
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-21-2014, 02:17 PM   #101
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default

just ordered mine form newegg, still have the deal for $86 with microsd until today.
Skikrazee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2014, 02:19 PM   #102
Raptor Minion
 
ZBoater's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Florida
Posts: 854
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Thanked 116 Times in 96 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default

Link?
ZBoater is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2014, 03:18 PM   #103
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: NJ
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default


Anyone with a sunroof look at dropping the controls andusing the existing wiring for your power and ground source?

How does the switch box for the sunroof/rear window come outto access wires?
njtta150 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2014, 04:51 PM   #104
Hightech Redneck
 
BulletsForFingers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 446
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Thanked 83 Times in 47 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by njtta150 View Post
Anyone with a sunroof look at dropping the controls andusing the existing wiring for your power and ground source?

How does the switch box for the sunroof/rear window come outto access wires?
You'd probably have more of a hassle getting the wire over to the controls. The way I did it required no headliner removal. I'm just thinking out loud though, I might be wrong. It's certainly a closer tap. My only other concern is that you're doubling up on that circuit whereas I added a new circuit to the fusebox. You'd probably be fine load wise though...
__________________
2013 F-150 FX4 SCrew 157" WB, 3.5L EcoBoost
BulletsForFingers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2014, 09:01 PM   #105
Senior Member
 
xcntrk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: NOVA
Posts: 508
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Thanked 88 Times in 72 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default

Camera has been working pretty good so far. Here's a sample vid I made using iMovie:



I am having one problem however, or at least I think it might be a problem, maybe just a drawback. Whenever my 32GB micro-sd card fills up, the camera unit stops recording anything further. I was under the impression this unit would continuously overwrite old data with new when the card fills up? When this happens I simply have to format the card and it's back up and running again. Is this normal or are others having this problem?
__________________
2013 FX4 SCREW 145" WB, TUXEDO BLACK, ECOBOOST V6, MAX TOW PKG 11200#, BILSTEIN 5100 (1.75"), FIRESTONE RIDE RITE BAGS, 285/60/20 DURATRACS.
xcntrk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2014, 09:19 PM   #106
Raptor Minion
 
ZBoater's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Florida
Posts: 854
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Thanked 116 Times in 96 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default

Here's mine. Check the lady coming from the right at the light. She almost ran it...

ZBoater is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2014, 10:03 PM   #107
Hightech Redneck
 
BulletsForFingers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 446
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Thanked 83 Times in 47 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by xcntrk View Post
Camera has been working pretty good so far. Here's a sample vid I made using iMovie:

I am having one problem however, or at least I think it might be a problem, maybe just a drawback. Whenever my 32GB micro-sd card fills up, the camera unit stops recording anything further. I was under the impression this unit would continuously overwrite old data with new when the card fills up? When this happens I simply have to format the card and it's back up and running again. Is this normal or are others having this problem?

Mine does the same. I ditched it and use the 8GB internal. No issues since.
__________________
2013 F-150 FX4 SCrew 157" WB, 3.5L EcoBoost
BulletsForFingers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2014, 11:06 PM   #108
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default

@ZBoater, that's Tampa driver's for you, driving around with their eyes down in their lap texting.


@xcntrk have you tried setting your video segments to shorter times? 3-5 mins, it should write over the oldest files. just a thought.

Hope to have mine installed this weekend once my left angle micro usb cable and 12v to 5v converter arrive. going to try and power it off the rearview mirror. Anyone know if this will work?
Skikrazee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2014, 12:57 AM   #109
Hightech Redneck
 
BulletsForFingers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 446
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Thanked 83 Times in 47 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Skikrazee View Post
@ZBoater, that's Tampa driver's for you, driving around with their eyes down in their lap texting.


@xcntrk have you tried setting your video segments to shorter times? 3-5 mins, it should write over the oldest files. just a thought.

Hope to have mine installed this weekend once my left angle micro usb cable and 12v to 5v converter arrive. going to try and power it off the rearview mirror. Anyone know if this will work?
Changing the video record times didn't help. The only thing that might is trying a different CD card from what I read.

I assume you could run it off the rear view. You're gonna have a mess of cables and converters up there though. I think it'd be much cleaner to run a cable down to the kick panel like I did in the video. If you've got some ways to hide it up there I'd like to see how you did it though.
__________________
2013 F-150 FX4 SCrew 157" WB, 3.5L EcoBoost
BulletsForFingers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2014, 01:29 PM   #110
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Tampa, FL
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default

the converter is fairly small. my intention is to try an bring the power wires down the same tube/covering as the mirror wires and then zip tie the USB down same tube. haven't really had a look under the headliner to see how much room is in there.
Click the image to open in full size.


Click the image to open in full size.

Click the image to open in full size.
Skikrazee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2014, 01:29 PM
 
 
 
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Join F150 Forum

 

The Mustang Source
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:12 PM.


Copyright 2006 - 20011 F150forum.com
This site is in no way affiliated with the Ford Motor Company.