Cluster swap question - Ford F150 Forum - Community of Ford Truck Fans

Go Back   Ford F150 Forum - Community of Ford Truck Fans > Late Model F150s > 2009 - 2014 Ford F150
Log In 


Cluster swap question

Reply
 
 
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-24-2015, 04:22 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 140
Thanked 23 Times in 20 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default Cluster swap question

I have a digital cluster going in place of my analog STX cluster monday. I know it works in the truck as I plugged it in and started the truck but I did not get to check all the features. I asked a tech at the dealer today about loading as built dat a to the new cluster and he eluded that it would be difficult to do this. The reason being that the as built data was for a analog cluster and you couldn't just load it on the digital cluster. Any truth to this?
cutigers08 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join F150 Forum

Join F150Forum.com Today - It's Totally Free!

Are you a Ford F150 fan? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's a great place for Ford F150 Fans to meet online.
Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your truck, and have a great time with other Ford F150 fans. Whether your an old timer or just bought your F150 you'll find that F150Forum.com is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally free!

Join F150Forum.com Today! - Click Here JOIN FOR FREE


-->
Old 07-24-2015, 04:24 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 140
Thanked 23 Times in 20 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default

He also said he was unsure but the thought it would probably throw several u codes. Anyone that has done the swap have any first hand experience with this?
cutigers08 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2015, 08:56 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 140
Thanked 23 Times in 20 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default

Any techs or anyone know this?????? I seem to get conflicting answers.
cutigers08 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2015, 09:55 AM   #4
Fleet Technician
 
Rnlcomp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Big Easy
Posts: 10,446
Thanked 1,868 Times in 1,468 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default

Might be possible using as built data from the donor trucks vin#, any 1 or all modules can be independently programmed as needed. No guarantee's it will fully function.

Never tried it my self but in theory it should work.
__________________
2013 XLT S-cab 5.0

For more 411 send a pm.
Rnlcomp is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2015, 09:57 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 140
Thanked 23 Times in 20 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default

It's got the donor trucks as built data. Hoping the features match mine and this is a non issue. Guess we will see monday
cutigers08 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2015, 10:05 AM   #6
Fleet Technician
 
Rnlcomp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Big Easy
Posts: 10,446
Thanked 1,868 Times in 1,468 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cutigers08 View Post
It's got the donor trucks as built data. Hoping the features match mine and this is a non issue. Guess we will see monday


Bring all your keys and fobs along because they will likely have to be reprogrammed as well.
__________________
2013 XLT S-cab 5.0

For more 411 send a pm.
Rnlcomp is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2015, 10:41 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 140
Thanked 23 Times in 20 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rnlcomp View Post
Bring all your keys and fobs along because they will likely have to be reprogrammed as well.
Truck started fine when I plugged the new key in. I didn't check the locks yet so I'll add that to the list of things to check out.
cutigers08 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2015, 11:04 AM   #8
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 4
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default

Do you have pics of old vs new?
PerturbedToast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2015, 11:31 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 140
Thanked 23 Times in 20 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default


This is the new one in the truck. The stock is the basic cluster without the LCD screen. Everything seems to work and the truck started fine. Perhaps a better question is what is store in the cluster vs what is stored in the BCM. It seems like most of the functions are in the BCM and it communicates it to the cluster. The oil pressure, coolant temp, gas gauge, and trans temp gauge, and tach all worked properly.
cutigers08 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2015, 11:51 AM   #10
Fleet Technician
 
Rnlcomp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Big Easy
Posts: 10,446
Thanked 1,868 Times in 1,468 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cutigers08 View Post
Perhaps a better question is what is store in the cluster vs what is stored in the BCM. It seems like most of the functions are in the BCM and it communicates it to the cluster. The oil pressure, coolant temp, gas gauge, and trans temp gauge, and tach all worked properly.
Found some interesting info on the IPC and BCM and how they communicate.

The Controller Area Network (CAN) uses network termination to improve communication reliability. Termination modules are located at both ends of the network. As network messages are broadcast in the form of voltage signals, the network voltage signals are stabilized by the termination resistors.

Each termination module has an internal 120 ohm resistor that bridges across the positive and negative bus connection. With two 120 ohm resistors located in a parallel circuit configuration, the total network impedance, or total resistance, is 60 ohms.

Network termination improves bus message reliability by stabilizing bus voltage and eliminating electrical interference.

The BCM is the gateway module, translating messages on the HS-CAN to the MS-CAN and vice versa, allowing a message to be distributed throughout both networks.

Vehicles equipped with the 4.2-inch screen or 8-inch touchscreen audio units use an I-CAN network for these modules. The IPC is the gateway module, translating messages on the HS-CAN to the modules on the I-CAN , and vice versa. This allows messages to be distributed throughout both networks, if required.

The BCM and IPC are the only modules on this vehicle that have this ability.
__________________
2013 XLT S-cab 5.0

For more 411 send a pm.
Rnlcomp is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2015, 11:51 AM
 
 
 
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:05 PM.


Copyright 2006 - 20011 F150forum.com
This site is in no way affiliated with the Ford Motor Company.