Go Back   Ford F150 Forum - Community of Ford Truck Fans > Late Model F150s > 2009 - Present Ford F150
Sign in using an external account
Register Forgot Password?


Reply
 
 
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-09-2011, 01:33 PM   #21
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Georgia
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BLU4TJW View Post
Thanks for all the replies. I have been away, and despite my owners manual saying otherwise, I have been using the cigarette lighter for the occasional phone charge while the gps was plugged into the regular 12 volt accessory. All good like you guys said. It would be nice if at least one of them wasn't hot all the time though.
I think it is the other way around:
Manual for my 2010 F-150 says on page 89: "Do not use the power point for operating the cigarette lighter element (if equipped).". This means that you may plug an accessory in the cigarette lighter socket; however, you should not plug the cigarette lighter in any of the power point sockets.
normanjp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2011, 01:54 PM   #22
Junior Member
 
kostond's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Northeast
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default

I wired an autozone "add-on" cigarette lighter adapter under the dash for my Garmin GPS. I installed an add-a-circuit to fuse #37 which is a spare in my fuse box.

I ran the power cable through my "A" pillar into the dash then across the back of the dash to the power point.

When I start the truck the Garmin comes on, and when I shut the truck off after a 30 sec delay the Garmin powers itself down.

Best part no unsightly wires on or across my dash.

Easy peasy
kostond is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2011, 01:55 PM   #23
Senior Member
5 Year Member
 
Abn150's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Sandhills, NC
Posts: 1,002
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Thanked 29 Times in 22 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by normanjp View Post
I think it is the other way around:
Manual for my 2010 F-150 says on page 89: "Do not use the power point for operating the cigarette lighter element (if equipped).". This means that you may plug an accessory in the cigarette lighter socket; however, you should not plug the cigarette lighter in any of the power point sockets.
For the 2010 you are correct. But the OP has the 2011, and in the 2011 manual it goes both ways: don't put the cigarette lighter in the power point and don't put an electrical device in the cigarette lighter receptacle.
Attached Thumbnails
Cigarette lighter as 12 volt source-2011-owners-guide11f12og1e.jpg  
__________________
[SIGPIC]- 2010 F-150 Lariat SCREW 4x2 dark blue pearl
- 5.4l, 6 speed, 3.73 LS, 6.5 ft bed
- max trailer tow, nav, rear camera
- billet antenna, Bull Ring tie downs, 4WD conversion
Abn150 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2011, 01:57 PM   #24
Senior Member
 
kevinr7290's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: San Antonio, TX
Posts: 296
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kostond
I wired an autozone "add-on" cigarette lighter adapter under the dash for my Garmin GPS. I installed an add-a-circuit to fuse #37 which is a spare in my fuse box.

I ran the power cable through my "A" pillar into the dash then across the back of the dash to the power point.

When I start the truck the Garmin comes on, and when I shut the truck off after a 30 sec delay the Garmin powers itself down.

Best part no unsightly wires on or across my dash.

Easy peasy
What is the add-a-circuit? I've never heard of that.
__________________


2011 F150 Supercrew Lariat 4X4 EcoBoost
kevinr7290 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2011, 02:21 PM   #25
zap
Senior Member
 
zap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Raiderland, TX
Posts: 2,446
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via Skype™ to zap
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kevinr7290 View Post
What is the add-a-circuit? I've never heard of that.
Basically a little thing that you plug in place of a fuse. On top it has two fuse slots, one for the fuse you pulled out when you put the add a circuit in it's place, and the other for the add a circuit. There is then a wire coming out of the AAC that you hook up to the power side of what ever electronic equipment your adding (CB, 12 volt socket, lights, switches, etc). The only thing to look out for: on the fuse panel you need a power when the ignition is "ON" fuse. If you find one that is constant power, just replace the original fuse and try a different fuse slot.
__________________
2002 4.2L XL
*Wanting 2006 5.9 Cummins or LBZ Duramax
Damn proud to be using a Mac
zap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2011, 02:40 PM   #26
Senior Member
 
kevinr7290's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: San Antonio, TX
Posts: 296
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by zap

Basically a little thing that you plug in place of a fuse. On top it has two fuse slots, one for the fuse you pulled out when you put the add a circuit in it's place, and the other for the add a circuit. There is then a wire coming out of the AAC that you hook up to the power side of what ever electronic equipment your adding (CB, 12 volt socket, lights, switches, etc). The only thing to look out for: on the fuse panel you need a power when the ignition is "ON" fuse. If you find one that is constant power, just replace the original fuse and try a different fuse slot.
Got it Thanks do you think there would be a problem closing fuse cover with the added fuse sticking out?
__________________


2011 F150 Supercrew Lariat 4X4 EcoBoost
kevinr7290 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2011, 02:55 PM   #27
zap
Senior Member
 
zap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Raiderland, TX
Posts: 2,446
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via Skype™ to zap
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kevinr7290

Got it Thanks do you think there would be a problem closing fuse cover with the added fuse sticking out?
I'm not sure I just always would shovel wire in there and put the original fuse back in so it would wedge the wire into the block. The way I'd do it would generally bypass the fuse on the drawing wire so if that fuse blew I wouldn't loose my accessory or overdraw and blow the fuse on accident.
__________________
2002 4.2L XL
*Wanting 2006 5.9 Cummins or LBZ Duramax
Damn proud to be using a Mac
zap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2011, 03:02 PM   #28
Junior Member
 
kostond's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Northeast
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default

Zap is right on about the add a circuit. Make sure you get one for AGM (mini fuse). I cut a small notch on the cover passed the wire through it and then snapped the cover in place. On my '09 #37 is a keyed spare fuse. I used a 10 amp fuse. Don't imagine a Garmin Nuvi would challenge that.
kostond is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2011, 03:20 PM   #29
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 97
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default

I used my lighter as a power source for a gps and blew the fuse...Since fewer and fewer people are smoking cigarettes these days, I'm really not sure what the purpose of having it is if it cant be used as an alternate power supply
11SCREWBall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2011, 03:24 PM   #30
zap
Senior Member
 
zap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Raiderland, TX
Posts: 2,446
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via Skype™ to zap
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 11SCREWBall
I used my lighter as a power source for a gps and blew the fuse...Since fewer and fewer people are smoking cigarettes these days, I'm really not sure what the purpose of having it is if it cant be used as an alternate power supply
Fewer and fewer people are also using the power ports these days. Most functions that you'd use one for is a function generally built into the radio now.
__________________
2002 4.2L XL
*Wanting 2006 5.9 Cummins or LBZ Duramax
Damn proud to be using a Mac
zap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2011, 03:24 PM
 
 
 
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cigarette lighter medic579 2009 - Present Ford F150 11 03-14-2011 11:21 PM
12 volt lighter Rjm321 2004 - 2008 Ford F150 6 01-23-2011 03:16 PM
cigarette lighter cobo General F150 Discussion 1 12-03-2010 08:06 AM
Cigarette Lighter Fuse 2wd5spd 1997 - 2003 Ford F150 2 11-20-2010 06:13 PM
cigarette Lighter Not Working desperado213 2004 - 2008 Ford F150 7 08-20-2010 07:27 AM


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Join F150 Forum

 

The Mustang Source
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:14 PM.


Copyright 2006 - 20011 F150forum.com
This site is in no way affiliated with the Ford Motor Company.