Topic Sponsor
2009 - 2014 Ford F150 General discussion on 2009 - 2014 Ford F150 truck.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Block Heater Install

Search this Thread

Old 05-29-2011, 01:29 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Block Heater Install

Hey Guys,
I am looking to install a block heater into my ecoboost engine to allow for quicker heat up time. I have talked with tasca parts to see what the cost is for OEM parts and it is around $80. I was wondering if anyone has installed one in the ecoboost or in any engine at all. I have plenty of mechanical experience, but just looking for some thoughts/opinions on the block heater install since I have never done one.

How hard is it to remove a freeze plug and install this?

anyone a ford tech that could maybe find a ford document on exactly how to install it?

thanks.
Old 11-20-2011, 12:49 PM

Received 109 Likes on 89 Posts

Did you get a part number? I am looking to add one to my 5.0 engine. I installed one a few years ago on a 5.4L, and it was vey easy. This is how it worked on my 5.4L:
-drain the radiator coolant into a clean bucket (you will re-use it).
-remove drain plug from driver's side of engine block (rear of engine, down low)
-drain coolant from block into the same bucket. (i made a "foil funnel" to direct the fluid)**** Total fluid drained was only about 2 gallons (radiator and block combined)
-remove driver's side rear most freeze plug. (tap one side lighty with a hammer and punch, to make it "spin". Then, when you can, grab it with a pair of pliers and remove from the engine block......... Be careful not to push the whole plug straight in towards the block, as it can fall into the water passage, and you may never see it again!)
-Install new heater element per directions (i believe my element pointed downward)
-tighten center bolt per directions to tighten into block
-re-install block coolant drain plug
-route heater wiring harness to front of truck
-refill radiator with coolant