Topic Sponsor
2009 - 2014 Ford F150 General discussion on 2009 - 2014 Ford F150 truck.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Beginning painting | The Ford Oval

Search this Thread

Old 08-29-2013, 09:31 PM
Painting, please wait.

Received 11 Likes on 8 Posts
Default Beginning painting | The Ford Oval

So I decided to just jump right into painting all the badges on my truck. This week I've been working on the Ford Oval from the grill.

I am an extreme beginning painter. I mean I understand the principles and concepts but when it comes to translating those to tangible results I get lost. Mainly because my only training has been common sense, forums and videos. It would be greatly appreciated if anyone here that has painting knowledge could take a look at my progress to let me know what they think.

Summary: I've taken my Dremel and ground all the clear and paint off the original oval. I then prepped the surface with some isopropyl. Then applied my primer (wet sanding gently in one direction with warm water with some soap between each coat with 100 and 2000). Now I have a few coats of Cardinal Red and I have been doing the same wet sanding as I did on the primer.

Questions: I obviously still have orange peel but it is very smooth to the touch. Is this normal? Will I only get rid of orange peel when I wet sand/compound/polish the clear coat? How do you think I'm doing to this point?

Finished Product: Cardinal red Ford oval with white lettering. Possible a few coats of VHT Nightshades to make the emblem a bit more subtle on my tuxedo black truck.

Big thanks for whoever takes the time to read this!

**Disclaimer** I am no where near an expert painting but would like to improve.

Old 08-29-2013, 10:24 PM
One Clean Machine

Received 1,614 Likes on 1,350 Posts

Do me up a set, Same Colors!
Old 08-29-2013, 10:33 PM

Received 10 Likes on 10 Posts

Have you ever checked out Moodys overlays?
Old 08-29-2013, 10:39 PM
Painting, please wait.

Originally Posted by Toddman34