Go Back   Ford F150 Forum - Community of Ford Truck Fans > Late Model F150s > 2009 - Present Ford F150
Sign in using an external account
Register Forgot Password?


Reply
 
 
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-20-2009, 12:28 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 98
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default 6 disc cd changer

My truck came with the 6 disc cd changer option, which I will never use. I was wondering if it is possible to remove and swap with the single cd unit? I would like to do this and swap for a single disc plus some cash if it is possible. Anybody have any ideas?
rjacobs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2009, 12:37 PM   #2
sig
Senior Member
 
sig's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 322
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default

It could probably be done but you may loose other features as well. I think that the satellite radio and sync are not available on the single cd changer. So if you have those features then you might not want to get rid of it.

I doubt that you will be able to get much cash for it ether. If people want to upgrade then they will most often go with a better after market unit. The people who don't want a true after market unit will want it installed, and will probably just get it done at ford.
sig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2009, 01:39 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 810
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default

Seconded. Trying to rip the CD changer out of the dash is going to be WAY not worth the time and effort, and you definitely would not come out ahead.

Sirius is standard on FX4 and Lariat. SYNC is an option regardless, I don't think either has anything to do with the CD changer.
statikuz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2009, 02:12 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 98
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default

yea the changer has nothing to do with sync. It probably is to much work to yank out, just figured if it was something I wasnt going to use, I could swap it out and get a little cash and get somebody a good deal on a 6 disc.
rjacobs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2009, 03:44 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 705
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default

I think it would be a waste of your energy to swap head units in the name of raising cash.

Is the head unit the Sony upgrade or the standard 6cd radio?
big_ole_truck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2009, 06:13 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Rayman21186's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Fernandina Beach FL
Posts: 257
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default

Speaking of aftermarket head units, how would it work with the way everything is built in and the buttons are all separate? Would you have to get an entire new dash kit or what?
Rayman21186 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2009, 06:29 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 810
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default

I haven't seen any aftermarket stereo upgrades/mods for the non-nav models yet - I'm sure sooner or later Scosche or another will come out with a dash kit but that won't necessarily solve everything. With everything being so tightly integrated these days it's harder to "upgrade" without breaking at least a few things. I did see a photo of replacing the factory nav unit somewhere though.
statikuz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2009, 02:02 AM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 98
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by big_ole_truck View Post
I think it would be a waste of your energy to swap head units in the name of raising cash.

Is the head unit the Sony upgrade or the standard 6cd radio?
I have a platinum so its the Sony stereo. The 6 disc is listed on the windows sticker as a 400ish dollar upgrade. I dont think it would be to hard to swap. I am guessing it is similar to a computer drive and its a separate unit from everything else and just the drive would come out and have 1 or 2 connectors on the back that would plug right into the single disc unit.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rayman21186 View Post
Speaking of aftermarket head units, how would it work with the way everything is built in and the buttons are all separate? Would you have to get an entire new dash kit or what?
Quote:
Originally Posted by statikuz View Post
I haven't seen any aftermarket stereo upgrades/mods for the non-nav models yet - I'm sure sooner or later Scosche or another will come out with a dash kit but that won't necessarily solve everything. With everything being so tightly integrated these days it's harder to "upgrade" without breaking at least a few things. I did see a photo of replacing the factory nav unit somewhere though.
Now that my thread is hi-jacked. There is already an aftermarket dash kit out that allows any double din unit to be mounted. There is also a unit that allows the Sync to remain active in the car(to what extent though I am unsure of). If I did not have the platinum with sync and everything else, I would swap for a high end double din nav unit.
rjacobs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2009, 03:26 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 810
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rjacobs View Post
There is already an aftermarket dash kit out that allows any double din unit to be mounted. There is also a unit that allows the Sync to remain active in the car(to what extent though I am unsure of). If I did not have the platinum with sync and everything else, I would swap for a high end double din nav unit.
My scrounging skills are weak - could you link these up? Thanks! As far as swapping your units, again it seems like too much effort to me, but if you're brave enough to tear into the dash and find out I'm sure it would be extremely useful to everyone else on here considering stereo upgrades/modding.
statikuz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2009, 10:01 AM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 98
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default

I cant link to it because of Metra's home page, but go to

www.metraonline.com

and search for part number 95-5820

That is the double din replacement panel, it replaces the entire center panel with ac controls and what not with a panel with a double din opening. I think there are one or two people using this already or are in the process of using them.
rjacobs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2009, 10:01 AM
 
 
 
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
cd changer with MP3 Thunderslide General F150 Discussion 4 06-22-2009 06:17 PM
97 6disc cd changer? chadt 1997 - 2003 Ford F150 10 04-08-2009 02:27 PM
6 disc cd changer farmerboy3 1997 - 2003 Ford F150 5 03-09-2009 02:10 AM
CD Changer ? jcajda 2004 - 2008 Ford F150 0 07-11-2008 06:03 PM
6 Disc changer gregor 1997 - 2003 Ford F150 1 07-16-2007 01:43 PM


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Join F150 Forum

 

The Mustang Source
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:08 PM.


Copyright 2006 - 20011 F150forum.com
This site is in no way affiliated with the Ford Motor Company.