Go Back   Ford F150 Forum - Community of Ford Truck Fans > Late Model F150s > 2009 - Present Ford F150
Sign in using an external account
Register Forgot Password?


Reply
 
 
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-08-2014, 07:56 AM   #1
Senior Member
 
vvgrovervv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: chesapeake, VA
Posts: 131
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default 5.0 low oil pressure, dies while driving

Looking for help out there, I was driving today on my way to work. After about 8 miles on the highway i get off the exit ramp and proceed to a street where the traffic is flowing about 35mph. all of a sudden my truck dash starts flashing low oil pressure and cuts off in the middle of the street. (damn near causing me to get rear ended) I took a min after i had to put the truck back into park turn it off and take the key out then restart it and she ran fine. I pulled over to the side of the road and check the oil and it is perfect level on the dipstick. Also have no more errors since. The truck only has 3200 miles on it and the break in oil was changed out at 1000miles.
I still had a 1/4 tank of gas so that was not the issue.
oil is changed over to castrol syntech (7.5 quarts) with fram ultra filter

has anyone ever had this issue or heard of something like it?
__________________
13' S-crew FX2, JLT catch can, Solo-x exhaust, 20% window tint, debadged, spray in bed liner, rear wheel well liners, Bakflip cover, billet grill, Airaid intake, 5star & MPT tuned, recon led tails and 3rd, more to come...
vvgrovervv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2014, 08:06 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
Cowpig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: SW New Mexico
Posts: 463
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Thanked 92 Times in 55 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default

did the motor die then the oil pressure flashed / went to zero? or it went to zero, flashed warnings, then died?
__________________
2012 SC 4x4 5.0
Cowpig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2014, 08:15 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
vvgrovervv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: chesapeake, VA
Posts: 131
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default

couldnt tell you which order it happened in. It all happen so quick. I was cruzing listening to radio then all of a sudden felt shuddering and coming to a quick stop. looked down and the lights on dash were on and truck was off.
__________________
13' S-crew FX2, JLT catch can, Solo-x exhaust, 20% window tint, debadged, spray in bed liner, rear wheel well liners, Bakflip cover, billet grill, Airaid intake, 5star & MPT tuned, recon led tails and 3rd, more to come...
vvgrovervv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2014, 08:20 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
Cowpig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: SW New Mexico
Posts: 463
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Thanked 92 Times in 55 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default

hmm, may not be an oil pressure issue then - if the engine dies, oil pressure goes to zero regardless (same when you turn it off at the key).

could check for codes and see if any come up from the obd? keep an eye on the oil pressure just in case though if nothing comes up and it seems normal again, if the oil gauge is moving around definitely stop driving and get it figured out!
__________________
2012 SC 4x4 5.0
Cowpig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2014, 08:30 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
MadocHandyman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Madoc, Ontario
Posts: 2,300
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Thanked 266 Times in 182 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vvgrovervv View Post
Looking for help out there, I was driving today on my way to work. After about 8 miles on the highway i get off the exit ramp and proceed to a street where the traffic is flowing about 35mph. all of a sudden my truck dash starts flashing low oil pressure and cuts off in the middle of the street. (damn near causing me to get rear ended) I took a min after i had to put the truck back into park turn it off and take the key out then restart it and she ran fine. I pulled over to the side of the road and check the oil and it is perfect level on the dipstick. Also have no more errors since. The truck only has 3200 miles on it and the break in oil was changed out at 1000miles. I still had a 1/4 tank of gas so that was not the issue. oil is changed over to castrol syntech (7.5 quarts) with fram ultra filter has anyone ever had this issue or heard of something like it?
There have been other 5.0's stalling at low speed. No real reason was reported but you can check with the dealer and at least report it to them.
__________________
MadocHandyman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2014, 08:46 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 322
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Thanked 26 Times in 26 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default

Why bother asking here? 3200 miles = dealer trip. Also use ford oil filters only if you like your warranty. Most dealers don't care too much but ford can void engine warranty if an aftermarket filter is on. Any diag that has to do with oil pressure they will right away check your filter
CollinM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2014, 09:00 AM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Thanked 6 Times in 4 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default

Inho, I think it stalled, then the oil pressure light came on. The Dealer may find a code.
Btw, My 2013 5.0 first recommended oil change was 5,000 miles. I always make the first oil change at the recommended mileage to make sure everything seats properly. I also wait until oil change #2 to put in synthetic. Occasionally I hear about an engine that burns 1 qt of oil per 1,000 miles, I always wonder if they did not let it break in all the way.
Chromeshadow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2014, 10:12 AM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 35
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 11 Times in 4 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CollinM View Post
Why bother asking here? 3200 miles = dealer trip. Also use ford oil filters only if you like your warranty. Most dealers don't care too much but ford can void engine warranty if an aftermarket filter is on. Any diag that has to do with oil pressure they will right away check your filter
First of all I agree that with the price and quality of Motorcraft filters there's no reason to run anything else on a FoMoCo product. There should never be a warranty hassle running OEM filters. However, unlike most Fram products, in my opinion the Fram Ultra is an exceptionally good filter. Technically Ford CANNOT deny warranty due to a non-oem filter UNLESS they can prove it was the filter that caused the problem. In this case I fully expect Fram would have to stand behind the warranty. For the lack of hassle I too would say stay with Motorcraft, but Ford cannot just arbitrarily void your warranty because you have a Fram oil filter.

http://www.consumer.ftc.gov/articles...ne-maintenance

Even though this isn't a Ford story, here's a story from a few years back when GM refused warranty on a product for which the Champion Labs oil filter was responsible. Champion/Fram stepped up and paid. Also a link to a GM Techconnect that illustrates when a car company would NOT warranty a vehicle due to an improper oil filter.

http://www.bobistheoilguy.com/forums...pics/2642075/1

http://www.acdelcotechconnect.com/pdf/imtn_V17I510.pdf

Last edited by greywolf11; 01-08-2014 at 10:53 AM.
greywolf11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2014, 09:21 AM   #9
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: SE Georgia
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default

Had similar issue, I was driving down the road, slowed to make a turn, as soon as I was into the turn the low oil light illuminated and engine shut down. Coasted to a safe spot to stop, placed in park and restarted the engine with no after effects.
This happened once before while my son was driving (same scenario), I was out of town and told him to take it to the dealer. Dealer called and said they can't reduplicate the issue. I asked if they scanned for an error code and they stated no codes come up.
FX4-HDMAN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2014, 10:00 AM   #10
Senior Member
 
vvgrovervv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: chesapeake, VA
Posts: 131
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default

its never happened since that one time. so i have no idea what would have caused it
__________________
13' S-crew FX2, JLT catch can, Solo-x exhaust, 20% window tint, debadged, spray in bed liner, rear wheel well liners, Bakflip cover, billet grill, Airaid intake, 5star & MPT tuned, recon led tails and 3rd, more to come...
vvgrovervv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2014, 10:00 AM
 
 
 
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Join F150 Forum

 

The Mustang Source
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:45 AM.


Copyright 2006 - 20011 F150forum.com
This site is in no way affiliated with the Ford Motor Company.