Go Back   Ford F150 Forum - Community of Ford Truck Fans > Late Model F150s > 2009 - Present Ford F150
Sign in using an external account
Register Forgot Password?


Reply
 
 
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-18-2013, 01:28 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 50
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 3
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default 2013 STX Basic Radio Replacement

I have a 2013 STX with the dash in this picture...

Click the image to open in full size.

I would like to take that center consol peice off and dremel out an exact hole for a new touch screen double din navigation unit. I searched this forum for the last 10 minutes to see if there was a how to on this and came across a few threads that touched on the topic of getting a after market replacement faceplate so I wouldnt have to drill this out.

Anyone with experience either drilling out the room for a double din unit or ordering a replacement faceplate please reply as I dont want to damage stock peices if I dont have to.

-James

(oh and if there is a thread on this already a link to it will be fine to close this thread out for me cheers!)
Ortoch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2013, 01:43 PM   #2
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Baltimore
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 1
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default

See this thread:

http://www.f150forum.com/f38/genos-9...nstall-183878/

A lot more capabilities than a regular double din.

As for a dash kit, look at Metra.
EcoboostedFX4 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to EcoboostedFX4 For This Useful Post:
Ortoch (07-18-2013)
Old 07-18-2013, 01:55 PM   #3
DTH
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: BC
Posts: 142
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 25
Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default

Scosche makes what your looking for. Comes with face plate and brackets for new head unit.
DTH is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to DTH For This Useful Post:
Ortoch (07-18-2013)
Old 07-18-2013, 03:12 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 50
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 3
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default

Thanks to both of you DTH you answered my question and Ecoboost you made about 3000000 more questions lol
Ortoch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2013, 03:26 PM   #5
Automotive Refinish Tech
 
mbullock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Somerset, WI
Posts: 4,733
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Thanks: 207
Thanked 564 Times in 422 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default

I have 3-4 scosche kits for sale soon. They are double din. They are painted however. If they fit your truck.

If that's your thing, I have UH tux black, UA ebony black, and UJ Sterling grey.

Here is my truck with the Sterling grey

Click the image to open in full size.
__________________
2010 F150 STX SCAB 4.6l 2v
"Experience is what you get, when you didn't get what you wanted."

"You can't believe everything you read on the internet...that's how World War I got started."
mbullock is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2013, 04:48 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 50
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 3
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mbullock View Post
I have 3-4 scosche kits for sale soon. They are double din. They are painted however. If they fit your truck.

If that's your thing, I have UH tux black, UA ebony black, and UJ Sterling grey.

Here is my truck with the Sterling grey

Click the image to open in full size.
how much for one fo those kits?
Ortoch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2013, 05:10 PM   #7
Automotive Refinish Tech
 
mbullock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Somerset, WI
Posts: 4,733
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Thanks: 207
Thanked 564 Times in 422 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ortoch View Post

how much for one fo those kits?
I'm going to post them up in the for sale section next week. So i won't be ready until then.

I did these for a couple of people that bailed on me, so I'm trying to unload them. Best buy wanted $50! But they're about $20 online. So I'm going to charge about $50. The $50 covers the cost of the kit + paint and materials + my labor. So you'll get the complete kit (mounting hardware etc) + the bezel painted. This is with legit PPG auto paint. This is not a Duplicolor job.

I have one all prepped up ready for paint, but some mount tabs are broken. Nothing is wrong with the face of it. I just have to fix up the tabs, and I'll be selling that one cheaper...prob about $35. And whoever buys it will get to pick the color.
__________________
2010 F150 STX SCAB 4.6l 2v
"Experience is what you get, when you didn't get what you wanted."

"You can't believe everything you read on the internet...that's how World War I got started."
mbullock is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2013, 05:20 PM   #8
Ajn
Junior Member
 
Ajn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 1
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default

Seeing those makes me want to switch my head unit from factory, I'm guessing you lose all sync abilities?
Ajn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2013, 05:31 PM   #9
Automotive Refinish Tech
 
mbullock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Somerset, WI
Posts: 4,733
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Thanks: 207
Thanked 564 Times in 422 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ajn View Post
Seeing those makes me want to switch my head unit from factory, I'm guessing you lose all sync abilities?
I believe there are wiring harness' that keep sync. I don't have sync, so i didn't get one of those harness'
__________________
2010 F150 STX SCAB 4.6l 2v
"Experience is what you get, when you didn't get what you wanted."

"You can't believe everything you read on the internet...that's how World War I got started."
mbullock is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2013, 05:31 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 50
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 3
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ajn View Post
Seeing those makes me want to switch my head unit from factory, I'm guessing you lose all sync abilities?
from what I ahve been reading you can keep the sync capabilities depending on what unit you go with or even a tablet install like the link above.
Ortoch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2013, 05:31 PM
 
 
 
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Join F150 Forum

 

The Mustang Source
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:23 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2006 - 20011 F150forum.com
This site is in no way affiliated with the Ford Motor Company.