Off-Road Section All discussion and questions about off-road in this Section
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: Halo Lifts

My Experiment

Search this Thread

Old 02-03-2017, 07:13 PM

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Default My Experiment

Hi, All! Starting a thread to display my project.

Backstory: I grew up 4-wheeling. My family has taken 4-wheelers and side by sides in Colorado, Kentucky, Tennessee, and Indiana. I love it. It's ABSOLUTELY my favorite pastime.
Problem: I'm a 29 year old electrician with 4 kids. I'm not a wealthy man. I can't afford a machine to take all my family 4-wheeling.
Solution: So, enter my project. I have a 2011 supercab F150 4x4 with an ecoboost. I love this truck. I bought it 14 months ago with 136000 miles on it. It's now got 147000. Runs fantastic. Only problems have been the typical limited slip issue, and some 02 sensors.
Goal: We are planning a trip to Moab, Utah as well as Ouray, CO. this late July/early August. So, as my whole family (young and small) all fit reasonably comfortably in my truck, I want to make it capable enough to do some mild wheeling. We want to explore mountains and terrain.
So I'm modding the truck. It's currently stock. But the parts are on the way, or just arriving.
Parts List: Full Fox 2.0 shocks/struts all the way around.
275/70R 18 Mastercraft Courses AXTs on 18x9 Ultra Mavericks.
EBC pads and rotors.
Front sway bar delete.
Painting the grille surround body color. Cause I have to. For reasons.

TL;DR Doing a few (mainly 4-wheeling related) mods. Letting ya'll know how they work.
Old 02-03-2017, 08:20 PM

Got the tires mounted tonight! Not installed yet, gonna do the suspension, brakes, and tires installed all at once.

Obligatory forced perspective

Old 02-03-2017, 09:20 PM

Received 33 Likes on 16 Posts

There's many trails out in Moab where you will require front and rear lockers and lots of clearance or you can forget about getting through
Old 02-03-2017, 10:25 PM