Off-Road Section All discussion and questions about off-road in this Section
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: Halo Lifts

Looking to go off road!

Search this Thread

Old 08-04-2015, 08:18 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Looking to go off road!

I have a 2014 F150 XLT supercrew with the 3.7 2WD(yeah i know not the best engine) but im looking to make it into something i can do a little off roading in. its currently stock but what i want to is add larger rims and tires either 18s or 20s with larger tires and lift it some. This is my first time lifting a truck for off road stuff. I mainly work with making mustangs fast. but that got boring so im looking to that this venture on. from what ive gathered from people I know is get 20 inch rims with 33s and a 2.5-3 inch leveling kit and it should give me enough clearance so im not scrubbing my fenders. Like i said this is my first time lifting a truck so i dont know what all parts to buy rims, tire sizes, lift kits, leveling kits etc im used to lowering and making a stiffer suspension for 500+ hp mustangs so any help will be greatly appricated.
Old 08-04-2015, 09:46 PM
F150 Forum

Received 7 Likes on 7 Posts

Hey man. Glad to hear you're looking to get into offroading. I have a few mustangs as well. Going fast on pavement is fun, but going fast in the dirt is just a different experience.

My first two questions would be what exactly are you looking to do offroad and what is your budget?
You can start with a simple kit that will give you new 2.5" coilovers up front and rear 2.0 shocks. Throw on some method wheels and some new rubber and get at it.
You can step it up and add upper control arms, resi coil overs, piggyback bypass rear shocks, springs etc.
Let me know if you have any other questions

-James
Old 08-05-2015, 11:43 AM

Received 254 Likes on 210 Posts