Off-Road Section All discussion and questions about off-road in this Section
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: Halo Lifts

Lift kit vs Leveling kit?

Search this Thread

Old 05-15-2016, 09:23 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Lift kit vs Leveling kit?

Hi, I'm a newbie, I own a 2012 FX4 Ecoboost that I'm planning on setting up for off roading.

Someone on some other post I made recommended I do a 4" lift, in some other group someone said "putting a lift kit is not good for you truck going off road cause it messes something up", but that just a level kit would be better.

What do YOU guys recommend?

Old 05-15-2016, 10:55 PM
JJM

Received 180 Likes on 136 Posts

A lift kit will keep the stock geometry in place. A leveling kit will put ball joints, control arms, and CV axles at extreme angles.
The following users liked this post:
llm_flyfisher (09-27-2020)
Old 05-16-2016, 01:09 AM
Cowboy of the Skies

Received 167 Likes on 134 Posts

A leveling kit is vastly different from a lift kit.
The only thing a leveling kit does is raise the front so its the same as the back....some people like them.
A lift actually lifts the whole truck.
I have a 4 inch long arm lift in my jeep and love it.
If you go up 4 inches buy a quality kit, not some junk.
This allows you to fit a taller tire for a little extra differential clearance, which is often the first part dragged when offroad.
llm_flyfisher (09-07-2020)
Old 05-16-2016, 01:16 AM
JJM

Received 180 Likes on 136 Posts

Originally Posted by WestsydeGuy
This allows you to fit a taller tire for a little extra differential clearance, which is often the first part dragged when offroad.
Don't be ridiculous, no one takes these trucks off-road...
WestsydeGuy (05-16-2016)
Old 05-16-2016, 12:57 PM
Cowboy of the Skies

Received 167 Likes on 134 Posts

Originally Posted by JJM
Don't be ridiculous, no one takes these trucks off-road...
Lol....thanks for making me laugh.
Your correct that most don't ☺

A few of us do actually take ours offroad.