HELP: Resetting the speedo after re-gear! - Ford F150 Forum - Community of Ford Truck Fans

Go Back   Ford F150 Forum - Community of Ford Truck Fans > Ford F150 Forums > Off-Road Section
Log In 


HELP: Resetting the speedo after re-gear!

Reply
 
 
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-02-2013, 01:04 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 44
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default HELP: Resetting the speedo after re-gear!

So I just got my truck back from the shop yesterday after they finished putting 4.56's in it (cost me a pretty penny, too...) and the speedometer is way off which is to be expected. It's off by quite a bit, a little under 30mph difference (70 mph = 90 on the gauge).

I definitely want to get this corrected ASAP but I've heard a few different things about getting it done. My first thought was to use my EDGE Evolution Tuner which has an option to set the axle ratio, I used it to go from STOCK to 4.56 but as soon as I started the truck it threw the P2601, or put the truck into "engine failsafe mode". I uninstalled the tune and put it back to stock and the truck ran just fine, no CEL, no failsafe mode.

My second thought was to take it to a dealer and have them flash it, but someone told me most dealers won't change the settings to accommodate 4.56s and 37 inch tires so I'm at a loss.

Has anyone here done a gear swap and dealt with this issue? Or had it fixed?

Any help would be great!
KithicHunter is offline   Reply With Quote
Join F150 Forum

Join F150Forum.com Today - It's Totally Free!

Are you a Ford F150 fan? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's a great place for Ford F150 Fans to meet online.
Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your truck, and have a great time with other Ford F150 fans. Whether your an old timer or just bought your F150 you'll find that F150Forum.com is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally free!

Join F150Forum.com Today! - Click Here JOIN FOR FREE


-->
Old 10-02-2013, 02:02 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
ol_blue's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Georgia
Posts: 921
Thanked 17 Times in 13 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default

I'm not regeared, but used my Edge to recalibrate for bigger tires. If you wanted a roundabout solution, i guess you could just change the tire size in the programmer until it aligned with your actual speed. I know this wouldn't be the proper way, but probably the cheapest
__________________
2006 Screw Lariat 5.4 4x4
3.73LS - 35" Toyo Open Country AT - 2" Leveling Kit - KC Reverse Lights
40 Series Flowmaster SIDO - Spray In Bullet Liner - CB radio- Edge Evolution
1999 Scab XLT 5.4 4x4
Torsion crank - 265/75 Goodyear Duratracs
ol_blue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2013, 03:49 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 44
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default

I'd have to increase the tire size a lot!! I have it set to my actual tire size now, 37... means I'd have to go 40+ to start seeing some regulation on the speedo, does the Edge even go up that high? I haven't checked.
KithicHunter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2013, 04:05 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Z7What's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 4,426
Thanked 461 Times in 408 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default

A SCT should fix it. That's what I used on my 03 with 4.56s and 38s. Was dead on!

Wayne
__________________
Ingot Silver Metallic 2013 F-150 Supercrew 5.0L FX2
Boss Adjustable Coilovers - ICON UCAs - Nitto Terra Grapplers - Airaid Jr Intake - Banks Monster Exhaust - Mag-Hytec - AMP Steps - Stiffler Traction Bars - Bak Revolver X2 Bed Cover - SCT Tuned By Torrie @ Unleashed Tuning
Built On 11-15-2012
Z7What is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2013, 05:25 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 44
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default

A new Tuner like the SCT is a bit out of my price range right now, the regear kind of tapped me out for a bit... plus, I don't see why the edge shouldn't be able to do it... the option is there to change the axle ratio, but for some reason the truck flips out when I change that particular setting...
KithicHunter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2013, 09:00 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Z7What's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 4,426
Thanked 461 Times in 408 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default

Try giving Edge a call!


Wayne
__________________
Ingot Silver Metallic 2013 F-150 Supercrew 5.0L FX2
Boss Adjustable Coilovers - ICON UCAs - Nitto Terra Grapplers - Airaid Jr Intake - Banks Monster Exhaust - Mag-Hytec - AMP Steps - Stiffler Traction Bars - Bak Revolver X2 Bed Cover - SCT Tuned By Torrie @ Unleashed Tuning
Built On 11-15-2012
Z7What is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2013, 09:04 PM   #7
I Like Tires
5 Year Member
 
BassAckwards's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Texas
Posts: 4,847
Thanked 231 Times in 207 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by KithicHunter View Post
I'd have to increase the tire size a lot!! I have it set to my actual tire size now, 37... means I'd have to go 40+ to start seeing some regulation on the speedo, does the Edge even go up that high? I haven't checked.
Actually you would have to go down in tire size because the lower gears are equivalent to running stock gears with smaller tires. What were your stock gears?

If you had 3.73 and if my math is correct you wanna input like a 30" tire. But don't quote me on that.
__________________
2006 F150 Lariat SuperCrew 6.5ft bed, 4x4, 5.4L, 3.73LS rear, G-Force True Ram Air Hood, Zone 4" Suspension Lift, ATX Artillery Chrome Rims 18x9, Cooper STT Tek3 325/60R18, Westin Ultimate Bull Bar 3" Chrome, Edge Evolution Power Programmer, Custom Side-exit Exhaust with Dynomax VT muffler, plenty of Chrome and Custom Stainless Steel Accents! My Mod Thread Confused about Tire Sizes?! How Much Air Pressure Do I Need?
BassAckwards is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2013, 10:45 AM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 44
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default

I'll try lowering the tire size, couldn't hurt! lol.

I guess I'll try giving EDGE a call, too. But I can't be the only one who has regeared with this problem!
KithicHunter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2013, 11:58 AM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Posts: 44
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default

Thanks everyone for the replies.

Bass, you were right, it was just a matter of lowering the tire size until the speedo regulates, ended up being around a 33 inch tire.

Thanks guys.
KithicHunter is offline   Reply With Quote
 
 
 
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:16 PM.


Copyright 2006 - 20011 F150forum.com
This site is in no way affiliated with the Ford Motor Company.