Topic Sponsor
Wheels & Tires Let's talk Wheels & Tires here!

Pros/Cons Switching from P to LT tire?

Search this Thread

Old 07-21-2014, 10:22 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default Pros/Cons Switching from P to LT tire?

New to the forum, I'm soaking up as much info as possible. I've recently traded in my Tacoma for a 2011 F150 super crew. It needs new tires and I've got a couple questions.

First, I'd like to go a big bigger, but no so big that I'll affect fuel mileage. I'm thinking 275/70-r18 instead of the 275/65's on there now. I've narrowed it down to either the Goodyear Adventure AT or the Cooper Discoverer AT3. In the larger size, each are only offered in LT. Which, as I understand it means a stiffer sidewall and probably a heavier tire than a P rated tire.

I love how the truck rides now, and I like getting 18mpg highway. Is switching to the LT going to cause negative issues with either of those things? I've never had a full size truck before so I'm still learning.
Old 07-21-2014, 10:28 PM

Received 2,961 Likes on 1,649 Posts

Originally Posted by foster
New to the forum, I'm soaking up as much info as possible. I've recently traded in my Tacoma for a 2011 F150 super crew. It needs new tires and I've got a couple questions.

First, I'd like to go a big bigger, but no so big that I'll affect fuel mileage. I'm thinking 275/70-r18 instead of the 275/65's on there now. I've narrowed it down to either the Goodyear Adventure AT or the Cooper Discoverer AT3. In the larger size, each are only offered in LT. Which, as I understand it means a stiffer sidewall and probably a heavier tire than a P rated tire.

I love how the truck rides now, and I like getting 18mpg highway. Is switching to the LT going to cause negative issues with either of those things? I've never had a full size truck before so I'm still learning.