Go Back   Ford F150 Forum - Community of Ford Truck Fans > Ford F150 Forums > Aftermarket Products, Reviews & Installation > Stereo/Audio
Sign in using an external account
Register Forgot Password?


Reply
 
 
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-14-2014, 05:18 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
schissler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 864
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 9
Thanked 22 Times in 22 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default Upgrading 2011 sony/nav system - how do i hook this up

I want to upgrade my sony system to run on the factory nav HU...

Polk db571s in the door
JL 8w3v3-4
rockford 400x4 @4ohmfor the door speakers
rockford 400x1 @4ohm for sub

how the heck do i make this all work and what else do i need to hook it all up?

the last time i did any stereo install was in highschool in my CRX lol
schissler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2014, 06:14 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Casper, WY.
Posts: 1,809
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 28
Thanked 118 Times in 114 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by schissler View Post
I want to upgrade my sony system to run on the factory nav HU...

Polk db571s in the door
JL 8w3v3-4
rockford 400x4 @4ohmfor the door speakers
rockford 400x1 @4ohm for sub

how the heck do i make this all work and what else do i need to hook it all up?

the last time i did any stereo install was in highschool in my CRX lol
I would suggest doing a lot of reading on this forum for instructions. It is way too much info to just write it all down for you. It won't be easy.
__________________
2014 Tuxedo Black F150 XLT Scab 4x4 w/5.0 with SCT tune. JVC's in doors. 2 - 10" Kenwood subs under rear seat powered by JL Audio amp
Wyo11Scab is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2014, 07:02 PM   #3
I missed that class
 
Truck Yeah's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Chicago NW Burbs
Posts: 1,535
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 25
Thanked 72 Times in 62 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default

If your going with polk..just use the sony amp..use the sub wires thru a loc..and replace only the sub..it be a lot cheaper
If you want amps all around u need line convertor like bit ten or the jl cleansweep. .i think rockford makes one..360??
I went with the bit ten..alpine 5 channel amp and jl sub.. no regrets
Truck Yeah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2014, 01:19 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
schissler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 864
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 9
Thanked 22 Times in 22 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Truck Yeah View Post
If your going with polk..just use the sony amp..use the sub wires thru a loc..and replace only the sub..it be a lot cheaper
If you want amps all around u need line convertor like bit ten or the jl cleansweep. .i think rockford makes one..360??
I went with the bit ten..alpine 5 channel amp and jl sub.. no regrets
I already have everything listed above and i dont want to use any of the factory junk except the HU.

I'm going to get someone else to install it and not looking to do it myself (other than the door speakers) i just want to know what other pieces i need to buy to do it before i find an installer

can i use this LOC? http://www.crutchfield.com/p_161LC6I...y.html?tp=2001

Last edited by schissler; 10-15-2014 at 03:30 PM.
schissler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2014, 06:26 PM   #5
Gimpy
 
48ford's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Winnipeg, Mb
Posts: 114
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 31
Thanked 15 Times in 11 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default

You need to cut the wires at the output of the Sony amp and use those as your input to a processor (I have a bit ten).
48ford is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2014, 01:32 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
schissler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 864
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 9
Thanked 22 Times in 22 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wyo11Scab View Post
I would suggest doing a lot of reading on this forum for instructions. It is way too much info to just write it all down for you. It won't be easy.
I did and it seems everyone has their own way of doing it. There isnt any consistent information!!
I don't need detailed instructions i just want to know what other hardware i need and a general idea of what hooks up to what.
schissler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2014, 03:05 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Casper, WY.
Posts: 1,809
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 28
Thanked 118 Times in 114 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by schissler View Post
I did and it seems everyone has their own way of doing it. There isnt any consistent information!!
I don't need detailed instructions i just want to know what other hardware i need and a general idea of what hooks up to what.
Like 48 said you will still need to use the Sony amp because it converts the digital signals from the factory HU into analog. Then run the wires into a BitTen or something similar before you run it into your amps.
__________________
2014 Tuxedo Black F150 XLT Scab 4x4 w/5.0 with SCT tune. JVC's in doors. 2 - 10" Kenwood subs under rear seat powered by JL Audio amp
Wyo11Scab is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2014, 05:08 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
schissler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 864
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 9
Thanked 22 Times in 22 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wyo11Scab View Post
Like 48 said you will still need to use the Sony amp because it converts the digital signals from the factory HU into analog. Then run the wires into a BitTen or something similar before you run it into your amps.
so i could run this then?

HU speaker output > audiocontrol LC6i > 4ch amp > speakers
Sony sub output > audiocontrol LC6i > mono amp > sub
schissler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2014, 05:56 PM   #9
Gimpy
 
48ford's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Winnipeg, Mb
Posts: 114
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 31
Thanked 15 Times in 11 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by schissler View Post
so i could run this then? HU speaker output > audiocontrol LC6i > 4ch amp > speakers Sony sub output > audiocontrol LC6i > mono amp > sub
Factory nav> factory Sony amp> new processor> new amps. The processor will sum your input signals and give you your front/rear/sub channels to go to your new amps.
48ford is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to 48ford For This Useful Post:
BrandonSBates (10-20-2014)
Old 10-16-2014, 06:13 PM   #10
Gimpy
 
48ford's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Winnipeg, Mb
Posts: 114
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 31
Thanked 15 Times in 11 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default

So your going to cut the output side of your Sony amp. One side of these wires(your Sony amp side) you need to extend and run to your processor for your input. I used my front door speakers and rear door speakers for my input. No tweeters, no sub, no center channel. Now with the other side of those wires you cut(speaker side) you can extend to your amps output so you don't have to run wires in the door. Sorry for the quick crappy drawing but hopefully it makes sense or helps.

Upgrading 2011 sony/nav system - how do i hook this up-image-2477748496.jpg
48ford is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to 48ford For This Useful Post:
BrandonSBates (10-20-2014), schissler (10-17-2014)
Old 10-16-2014, 06:13 PM
 
 
 
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Join F150 Forum

 

The Mustang Source
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:02 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2006 - 20011 F150forum.com
This site is in no way affiliated with the Ford Motor Company.