Go Back   Ford F150 Forum - Community of Ford Truck Fans > Ford F150 Forums > Aftermarket Products, Reviews & Installation > Stereo/Audio
Sign in using an external account
Register Forgot Password?


Reply
 
 
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-14-2013, 03:41 PM   #141
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Texas
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Windup View Post
PM sent


I started this tread about your install, didn't want to hijack the others.


http://www.f150forum.com/f30/bypassi...3/#post2616847
Thanks!
DK1142 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2013, 08:33 PM   #142
Member
5 Year Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 86
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default

Is anyone else who installed this unit getting a hissing sound? I get it on FM, Sirius, and even my iPod plugged through USB. It is most noticeable at low volumes. At 0 volume it's silent. At 0.5 volume the hiss starts. As I turn the music up, the music eventually takes over the hiss.

I used high quality RCA's and shielded 18ga speaker wire, grounded my amp to the rear seat bolt.

Does anyone else experience this? Do I need an EQ or something to clean up the signal before feeding it into the amp?

Before I turned the gains up I didn't notice it. But also, without the gains, I wasn't truly seeing the benefits of actually having an amplifier either...

Thanks
__________________
- 2009 FX4: 6" Zone, 2" Level, 35" Trail Grapplers, 20" BMF Novakanes, Superchip, Magnaflow
dsg03svt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2013, 12:31 PM   #143
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Casper, WY.
Posts: 1,856
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Thanked 121 Times in 117 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dsg03svt View Post
Is anyone else who installed this unit getting a hissing sound? I get it on FM, Sirius, and even my iPod plugged through USB. It is most noticeable at low volumes. At 0 volume it's silent. At 0.5 volume the hiss starts. As I turn the music up, the music eventually takes over the hiss.

I used high quality RCA's and shielded 18ga speaker wire, grounded my amp to the rear seat bolt.

Does anyone else experience this? Do I need an EQ or something to clean up the signal before feeding it into the amp?

Before I turned the gains up I didn't notice it. But also, without the gains, I wasn't truly seeing the benefits of actually having an amplifier either...

Thanks
I didn't have any hissing at all. I would set the FRD level low and then adjust the amp level.
__________________
2014 Tuxedo Black F150 XLT Scab 4x4 w/5.0 with SCT tune. JVC's in doors. 2 - 10" Kenwood subs under rear seat powered by JL Audio amp
Wyo11Scab is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2013, 03:38 PM   #144
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Lafayette, LA
Posts: 1,955
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Thanked 180 Times in 167 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Default

'13 fx2 screw with My Ford 4.2" LCD screen. Will the PAC adaptor work?
I read a couple pages back it worked on a guys stx cd basic, but im assuming that is different from My Ford 4.2"

Anyone with experience?
If this doesnt work, what are my other options?
__________________
'13 Sterling Grey FX2 Supercrew
| 5.0 V8 | 3.55 E-Locker | Sundown | Image Dynamics | Alpine | Eclipse | MPT Tuned
zimmer0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2013, 01:06 PM   #145
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Lafayette, LA
Posts: 1,955
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Thanked 180 Times in 167 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Default

Doesnt look like this will work in my truck.
Will have one for sale soon if someone is looking for one. PM me
__________________
'13 Sterling Grey FX2 Supercrew
| 5.0 V8 | 3.55 E-Locker | Sundown | Image Dynamics | Alpine | Eclipse | MPT Tuned
zimmer0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2013, 01:43 PM   #146
Senior Member
 
CaSCrew11's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 999
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Thanked 65 Times in 56 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by zimmer0
Doesnt look like this will work in my truck.
Will have one for sale soon if someone is looking for one. PM me
Someone in the 09+ trades and sales section is looking for one. That sux it didn't work for you, but hopefully you'll find something that will work for your set-up!
CaSCrew11 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2013, 05:19 PM   #147
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by zimmer0 View Post
Doesnt look like this will work in my truck.
Will have one for sale soon if someone is looking for one. PM me

Same here.
brownc9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2013, 12:38 PM   #148
Ski Bum
 
RubberDuckie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Dearborn, MI
Posts: 106
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default Amp install question

So I installed the PAC unit when I was putting in my sub, and only used the "rear" RCA input on the unit. What I'd like to do now is install components up front and run a 2ch amp to them using the "front" input of the PAC unit. My question is, if I replace the rear door speakers for better clarity, but don't want to power them from the amp, will they still be powered by the stock HU? Or will they make no sound at all?
__________________
2012 Silver FX4 EcoBoost SCrew
|6.5' Bed | 3.73 Gears | Luxury Pkg | Max Trailer Tow | 2.5" Level | BFG Tires
| Rigid D2's | D2 reverse lights | 20" LED Bar | MBRP | 10" Kicker | SCT w/ Custom MPT Tunes | FXR Retrofit | Airaid |
RubberDuckie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2013, 05:03 PM   #149
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Casper, WY.
Posts: 1,856
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Thanked 121 Times in 117 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RubberDuckie View Post
So I installed the PAC unit when I was putting in my sub, and only used the "rear" RCA input on the unit. What I'd like to do now is install components up front and run a 2ch amp to them using the "front" input of the PAC unit. My question is, if I replace the rear door speakers for better clarity, but don't want to power them from the amp, will they still be powered by the stock HU? Or will they make no sound at all?
Still powered by stock HU just like they are now
__________________
2014 Tuxedo Black F150 XLT Scab 4x4 w/5.0 with SCT tune. JVC's in doors. 2 - 10" Kenwood subs under rear seat powered by JL Audio amp
Wyo11Scab is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2013, 05:20 PM   #150
Senior Member
 
CaSCrew11's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 999
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Thanked 65 Times in 56 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wyo11Scab

Still powered by stock HU just like they are now
And I believe this is how most people are doing it so that sync will still run off of the front speakers and not an amped sub and rear speakers.
CaSCrew11 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2013, 05:20 PM
 
 
 
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pac aoem-frd24???? easy smeasy Stereo/Audio 6 06-12-2013 09:32 AM
Help with AOEM-FRD24 and 4 channel amp... D'R34P3R Stereo/Audio 10 05-19-2011 09:22 AM
Help with AOEM-FRD24 and 4 channel amp... D'R34P3R General F150 Items 0 05-14-2011 05:12 AM
FS: PAC AOEM-FRD24 Wiring Harness whaler General F150 Items 1 05-07-2011 07:50 PM
Pac aoem frd24 arddalle Stereo/Audio 0 10-11-2010 05:35 PM


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Join F150 Forum

 

The Mustang Source
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:04 AM.


Copyright 2006 - 20011 F150forum.com
This site is in no way affiliated with the Ford Motor Company.