Topic Sponsor
Stereo/Audio Come discuss all Ford F150 Stereo and Audio questions here!
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: The Magic Brand

Strange issue with JL Cleansweep setup

Old 12-30-2014, 12:25 PM

Received 10 Likes on 8 Posts

Default Strange issue with JL Cleansweep setup

Hello all,

I am hoping this thread may help me troubleshoot a strange issue with my stereo set up in my 2011 Limited. These are the components I have installed and the link below will take you to my original thread.

CleanSweep
Signal Summing Interface with Load Sensing Adapter
HD900/5: 5 Ch. Class D Amp, 900 W
12TW3-D4: 12" Sub, Dual 4 Ω
C5-570: 2-Way Components in Front Doors
C2-570x: Coaxials in Rear Doors

https://www.f150forum.com/f38/those-...ny-nav-265050/

I have been running this setup for 5 months now without a single issue. Honestly, the sound is clearer and louder than I had expected and I've been very happy. I think an equalizer may be needed in the future for some more fine tuning but that is beside the point.

Lately, I have been experiencing a strange issue. Intermittently, when I start the truck, sound will only be coming through the speakers on the right side. The sound is louder than normal and it is very distorted. The sound is similar to a loose connection on the back of a speaker. As I increase the volume on the OEM headunit, the distortion worsens. As I increase the volume more, the noise and distortion eventually spill over to the left side until finally the sound is perfect again.

In other words, when I start the truck and experience this issue, I can turn the volume up towards the max and make it go away. It sounds terrible while you do it, but it will go away every time be turned up towards max volume. Adjusting the Cleansweep volume does not have an affect on the distortion like the OEM volume does.