Go Back   Ford F150 Forum - Community of Ford Truck Fans > Ford F150 Forums > Aftermarket Products, Reviews & Installation > Stereo/Audio
Sign in using an external account
Register Forgot Password?


Pioneer Appradio 3 question

Reply
 
 
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-06-2014, 12:39 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default Pioneer Appradio 3 question

I plan on replacing my stock HU with a new one. I also plan on getting subwoofers. Am I able to run my rear speakers and my subwoofer with the appradio?
lifeisgood765 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2014, 01:42 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Casper, WY.
Posts: 2,243
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Thanked 183 Times in 169 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lifeisgood765 View Post
I plan on replacing my stock HU with a new one. I also plan on getting subwoofers. Am I able to run my rear speakers and my subwoofer with the appradio?
It has a 4 channel amp for front and rear. RCA outputs for a sub amp for your sub
__________________
2014 Tuxedo Black F150 XLT Scab 4x4
Wyo11Scab is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2014, 02:22 PM   #3
Senior Member
5 Year Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 555
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Thanked 34 Times in 31 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default

The 3 only has 2 sets of RCA's. The rear is selectable for rear/sub. Not to say that you could not split the RCA's to obtain full coverage but it will lead to less than desirable results.

For the record, the Appradio is "neat" but is a LOUSY implementation of smart phone interface. I highly recommend finding a real HU.
troutspinner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2014, 04:27 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Casper, WY.
Posts: 2,243
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Thanked 183 Times in 169 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by troutspinner View Post
The 3 only has 2 sets of RCA's. The rear is selectable for rear/sub. Not to say that you could not split the RCA's to obtain full coverage but it will lead to less than desirable results.

For the record, the Appradio is "neat" but is a LOUSY implementation of smart phone interface. I highly recommend finding a real HU.
+1. I had one once and it was a pain in the butt
__________________
2014 Tuxedo Black F150 XLT Scab 4x4
Wyo11Scab is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2014, 02:19 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Kytann's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 654
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Thanked 76 Times in 62 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by troutspinner View Post
The 3 only has 2 sets of RCA's. The rear is selectable for rear/sub. Not to say that you could not split the RCA's to obtain full coverage but it will lead to less than desirable results.

For the record, the Appradio is "neat" but is a LOUSY implementation of smart phone interface. I highly recommend finding a real HU.
So, stay away from Appradio. What would you recommend?
Kytann is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2014, 04:17 PM   #6
Senior Member
5 Year Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 555
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Thanked 34 Times in 31 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kytann View Post
So, stay away from Appradio. What would you recommend?
Really depends on what you want. The reason I tried the Appradio in the beginning was because I wanted a navigation HU and it was the cheapest one available with a really nice screen. I quickly learned why it was so cheap, because it depends totally on the phone as it just mirrors the phone screen.....slowly. The radio also relied on a smartphone for almost everything else it did as well.

So what are you looking for? There are MANY choices but maybe I could suggest a starting point.
troutspinner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2014, 11:37 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
Kytann's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 654
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Thanked 76 Times in 62 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by troutspinner View Post
Really depends on what you want. The reason I tried the Appradio in the beginning was because I wanted a navigation HU and it was the cheapest one available with a really nice screen. I quickly learned why it was so cheap, because it depends totally on the phone as it just mirrors the phone screen.....slowly. The radio also relied on a smartphone for almost everything else it did as well.

So what are you looking for? There are MANY choices but maybe I could suggest a starting point.
Thanks for offering to suggest something.

Here's, for a quick list:
  • Double-Din
  • Android compatible
  • Bluetooth
  • Data Connection to phone over Bluetooth
  • Be able to run a Pandora App on the head unit for music, and have it pull data only through my bluetooth connection.
Kytann is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2014, 02:19 PM   #8
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kytann View Post
Thanks for offering to suggest something.

Here's, for a quick list:
  • Double-Din
  • Android compatible
  • Bluetooth
  • Data Connection to phone over Bluetooth
  • Be able to run a Pandora App on the head unit for music, and have it pull data only through my bluetooth connection.
Any of the new kenwood, pioneer, or even alpine head units should be able to do that but your looking at/over $1500 for those data type head units
Its big dee36 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2014, 07:03 PM   #9
Senior Member
5 Year Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 555
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Thanked 34 Times in 31 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Its big dee36 View Post
Any of the new kenwood, pioneer, or even alpine head units should be able to do that but your looking at/over $1500 for those data type head units
Kytann started a new thread on this and I think he has since narrowed his choices. He is not looking for Nav so the prices are reasonable.
troutspinner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2014, 07:27 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
Kytann's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 654
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Thanked 76 Times in 62 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default

I did. Lenaing towards the Sony XAV-65 actually. Trying to figure out what all extra harnesses are needed. Like the Pac module, is that really needed with my Base radio?
Kytann is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2014, 07:27 PM
 
 
 
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Join F150 Forum

 

The Mustang Source

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:27 PM.


Copyright 2006 - 20011 F150forum.com
This site is in no way affiliated with the Ford Motor Company.