Pac aoem-frd24???? - Ford F150 Forum - Community of Ford Truck Fans

Go Back   Ford F150 Forum - Community of Ford Truck Fans > Ford F150 Forums > Aftermarket Products, Reviews & Installation > Stereo/Audio
Log In 


Pac aoem-frd24????

Reply
 
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-21-2011, 11:36 AM   #1
Senior Member
 
easy smeasy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Denham Springs, LA
Posts: 664
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default Pac aoem-frd24????

i am about to order my PAC AOEM-FRD24 for my 2010 FX2 because i like the fact that its all plug-and-play but there is one thing i wanted to check on. i believe i read somewhere that if your amp has high level inputs, then you wont need the PAC AOEM-FRD24. is this true? dont want to spend the $$ if i dont need it but if thats not the case then the PAC AOEM-FRD24 is definately the way im going.

Click the image to open in full size.

easy smeasy is offline   Reply With Quote
Join F150 Forum

Join F150Forum.com Today - It's Totally Free!

Are you a Ford F150 fan? If so we invite you to join our community and see what it has to offer. Our site is specifically designed for you and it's a great place for Ford F150 Fans to meet online.
Once you join you'll be able to post messages, upload pictures of your truck, and have a great time with other Ford F150 fans. Whether your an old timer or just bought your F150 you'll find that F150Forum.com is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally free!

Join F150Forum.com Today! - Click Here JOIN FOR FREE


-->
Old 07-21-2011, 04:15 PM   #2
Dazed and Confused
5 Year Member
 
Tallyman89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Ellijay GA
Posts: 785
Thanked 54 Times in 47 Posts
Default

True. If your amp has high level inputs you do not have to order the PAC. But you will have to tap/splice your speaker wires and run them to your amp. The PAC is PNP and has RCA output to your amp. You then only run one RCA cable to your amp. I did the PAC because it is PNP and no splicing or cutting. The PAC has the remote power on too. No need to tap the fuse box. To me the extra $$$ is worth it.
__________________
2014 Lariat Screw 4X4, White Platinum Pearlcoat, 3.5L EB
Tallyman89 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2011, 04:34 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
easy smeasy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Denham Springs, LA
Posts: 664
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

thanks again tallyman, splicing was what i was trying to stay away from. i didnt know if there was some other kind of wire harness i could buy intead. gonna order my PAC now.
easy smeasy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2011, 07:48 AM   #4
Dazed and Confused
5 Year Member
 
Tallyman89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Ellijay GA
Posts: 785
Thanked 54 Times in 47 Posts
Default

I am sure there is a harness but I do not know which it is. Metra might have something. I saw the PAC, it's ease of installation and that was good enough for me.
__________________
2014 Lariat Screw 4X4, White Platinum Pearlcoat, 3.5L EB
Tallyman89 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2011, 05:47 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
easy smeasy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Denham Springs, LA
Posts: 664
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

yea, im gonna stick with the pac. sounds like a win win to me. if i ever need to go back stock, just simply unplug it
easy smeasy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2013, 08:11 AM   #6
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

If I want to amp my new door speakers won't I also have to run wire from amp back to speaker wires behind factory radio and splice??
fishibew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2013, 08:32 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
Pauli18c's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Chicago / Suburbs
Posts: 717
Thanked 62 Times in 55 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by fishibew View Post
If I want to amp my new door speakers won't I also have to run wire from amp back to speaker wires behind factory radio and splice??
Nope, run RCA cables from the PAC adapter to the amp. Then run new wires from the amp to the speakers and done.
__________________
2011 F150 FX4 Screw 5.0 6.5ft 3.73's

WeatherTech visors, WeatherTech liners, Rugged Liner wheel well liners, Blacked out reflectors, Front tints, N-Fab 6 step nerf bars, Magnaflow muffler w/ resonator delete, Icon 2.5s, Camburg UCA, Fox 2.5 rears, 275/65-20 Duratracs, Morimoto XB Fogs
Pauli18c is offline   Reply With Quote
 
 
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
vibration at 75 mph rsm Maintenance Shop 5 10-16-2015 09:40 PM
vibration at 75 mph rsm 2004 - 2008 Ford F150 11 09-28-2015 08:02 AM
rear end Vibration at 75mph rsm General F150 Discussion 1 09-13-2015 02:06 PM
Help complete this build QWK SVT Stereo/Audio 1 07-04-2011 06:19 PM
FS: PAC AOEM-FRD24 Wiring Harness whaler General F150 Items 1 05-07-2011 06:50 PM


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:50 AM.


Copyright 2006 - 20011 F150forum.com
This site is in no way affiliated with the Ford Motor Company.