Topic Sponsor
Stereo/Audio Come discuss all Ford F150 Stereo and Audio questions here!
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: The Magic Brand

New system almost done, need opinions

Search this Thread

Old 09-29-2011, 07:35 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default New system almost done, need opinions

First of all I'm pretty new to car audio (haven't had a 'system' in 15 yrs). So all this new tech is great. My goal is to replace the stock system to the point where I can go tailgate at an NFL or college game or go camping and have system that people WANT to listen to.

Here is what I've got so far (or in the mail): Fox Acoustics dual 10" enclosure, a pair of brand new Image Dynamics 10V3D2's, Clarion CX501 HU, undecided on door speakers. Probably will go with Memphis 5x7 coaxial in the four corners and power it all with a Kicker IX1000.5 amp. I wanted the JL 900/5 but I liked the small footprint of the Kicker and got a nice deal on it.

Anyhow, anyone have suggestions for nice, musical, midbass speakers for the 4 door speakers? I don't really want a component system at this point, just to much $. Maybe down the road. Just looking at coaxial. My amp will push 125 rms x 4 at 2 ohm or 65 x 4 at 4 ohm and the sub channel at 500x1 at 2 ohm.

Do you think this will drive the two ID 10's well enough or should I have got a nice mono or two channel amp seperate to power the subs? Thanks for any input and let me know how you think this combination will perform!
Old 10-01-2011, 09:49 AM

Well looks like I'm the dorky new kid! 50 views and no replies.

Anyhow I ended up going with Memphis 15-MC572 for all four corners. Can't wait to see how it sounds.
Old 10-01-2011, 09:55 AM

Received 9 Likes on 9 Posts

Originally Posted by AirTractorDriver
Well looks like I'm the dorky new kid! 50 views and no replies.

Anyhow I ended up going with Memphis 15-MC572 for all four corners. Can't wait to see how it sounds.