Topic Sponsor
Stereo/Audio Come discuss all Ford F150 Stereo and Audio questions here!
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: The Magic Brand

new speaker advice needed

Old 06-21-2010, 09:20 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question new speaker advice needed

i need to replace the factory speakers in my 05 extended cab. i used to "compete" on the amateur level with previous systems so im not a newbie when it comes to speakers. ive just been out of the game for a few years. i AM NOT going the component route as many people like to say in a response. im just looking to do basic replacement of my 6x8s. i have been looking at the kicker models, not sure on the #, but just there 2 way ones. can anybody comment on those, or recommend something along that level?
Old 06-21-2010, 11:20 PM

NEVER buy highs without listening to them in person. Everyone likes something different in highs and mids. Some like the softer sound of silk tweeters, some like the harsher tinny sound of titanium tweeters. Some mids are designed for full range and play deep an some are designed for dedicated mids and have a tight response.
This is when a stereo shop with a good demo room and a wide variety of speakers comes in handy. Tell the salesman to turn the subs off and switch from one set to another while playing some quality music and select several different types of music too. Some speaker will sound great on one song and flop with another.
You can always EQ the crap out of any speaker and make it sound decent but a speaker that sounds great to begin with is always better.
Good luck.
Old 06-21-2010, 11:24 PM

thank you very much. thats something that i havent thought of and should have. like i said i just havent played around for several years and iys those little thinhs that slip your mind. thanks again. i am still open to any little posts
Old 06-21-2010, 11:48 PM

Received 147 Likes on 78 Posts