Go Back   Ford F150 Forum - Community of Ford Truck Fans > Ford F150 Forums > Aftermarket Products, Reviews & Installation > Stereo/Audio
Sign in using an external account
Register Forgot Password?


Reply
 
 
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-10-2013, 09:47 AM   #61
F150 Vendor
 
12V Guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Montreal
Posts: 203
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Thanked 50 Times in 38 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by FDHog View Post
I have a 2013. With factory Nav and Sony amp. From what I understand, you're saying that you are working on a system that will let me can the factory setup in favor of a Kenwood DNX990HD, or is that coming later?
Thanks
Hi,

Unfortunately no. The 2013 with NAV is My Ford Touch and we are not covering it now (or soon).

Thanks,
__________________
12V Guy
Automotive Data Solutions, Inc.
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
www.idatalink.com/maestro
www.kenwoodusa.com
12V Guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2013, 02:55 PM   #62
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default

I did the demo on your website and It says I have the factory amp. Where is this amp and is it connected to the factory stereo I'll be removing or is it just a sync amp I don't need.

2010 FX4 no nav, with factory radio and sync system.
superwarp1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2013, 08:31 AM   #63
F150 Vendor
 
12V Guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Montreal
Posts: 203
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Thanked 50 Times in 38 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default

@superwarp1:

The website shows you what can be retained. The software is the same whether you have an amp or not. When you flash, we show you the OEM amp as a system we can retain, but the only time it matters if you check or uncheck the box (during flashing, not when searching) is if you have Sony amp. So you may not have the amp and it doesn't matter to the software either way. But if you did have an amp and you leave it checked when you flash, we will turn it on and in the case of Sony, provide fading capabilty and a menu to access the amp settings (Surround, Speed Compensated Volume, and Gain).

Hope this is clear. Sorry for the confusion. It's a balance between making you know EVERYTHING about your vehicle and tell the website and making the process simple by only asking for what we really NEED to know.

Best,
__________________
12V Guy
Automotive Data Solutions, Inc.
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
www.idatalink.com/maestro
www.kenwoodusa.com
12V Guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2013, 11:23 AM   #64
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default

Hay guys. I'm new and need so help. I'm looking a getting a used 2012 f150 and it has a aftermarket unit in it how can i get a stock one for it? Any help would be great
Randal-J is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2013, 10:52 PM   #65
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Casper, WY.
Posts: 1,818
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Thanked 121 Times in 117 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Randal-J View Post
Hay guys. I'm new and need so help. I'm looking a getting a used 2012 f150 and it has a aftermarket unit in it how can i get a stock one for it? Any help would be great
Open up your own thread and look on eBay. Hay is for horses.
__________________
2014 Tuxedo Black F150 XLT Scab 4x4 w/5.0 with SCT tune. JVC's in doors. 2 - 10" Kenwood subs under rear seat powered by JL Audio amp
Wyo11Scab is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Wyo11Scab For This Useful Post:
12V Guy (04-15-2013)
Old 04-13-2013, 11:02 PM   #66
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default

Finally done with the install. Had some issues but they were my own fault/poor eye sight. So far so good. Sounds ten times better and ten times louder. Just need to learn my way around the menues.


I'll do a video when everything is buttoned up.
superwarp1 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to superwarp1 For This Useful Post:
ReSQDiVER (04-15-2013)
Old 04-16-2013, 06:36 PM   #67
Member
 
ReSQDiVER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Tacoma, WA
Posts: 46
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default

My DNX890HD and Maestro will be here tomorrow. Can't wait to get it put in and enjoy the better sound.
__________________
2002 XLT 2x4 4.2L V6 183,000mi
2011 XLT 4X4 5.0l 3.73 9000mi 18.7 avg MPG mostly hwy
ReSQDiVER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2013, 11:00 PM   #68
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default

Any insight into the sound quality of this system? Are people with the Sony amp'd systems able to adjust crossover points and PEQ settings? Does this solution compress the audio at higher volumes like the stock Sony systems do?

I'm ALL IN for this system when/if there's ever an appropriate dash kit made to replace the stock Sony Nav and climate control buttons.
deejayarecue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2013, 05:15 PM   #69
F150 Vendor
 
12V Guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Montreal
Posts: 203
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Thanked 50 Times in 38 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by deejayarecue View Post
Any insight into the sound quality of this system? Are people with the Sony amp'd systems able to adjust crossover points and PEQ settings? Does this solution compress the audio at higher volumes like the stock Sony systems do?

I'm ALL IN for this system when/if there's ever an appropriate dash kit made to replace the stock Sony Nav and climate control buttons.
As covered before, likely not going to be a solution for the OEM navi in the later model trucks. No kit, display is modular and not enough people willing to buy.

However, wanted to address your question on Sony amps in the non-nav trucks.

1. You can fade the Sony amp, even though you only feed in two channels of audio from the Kenwood radio.

2. You can access the settings of the amp and change: Speed compensated volume, Surround/stereo, and adjust the gain of the amp.

3. There are no crossover points in the Sony amp that can be adjusted and if you set them in your Kenwood, you will be limiting frequencies to the input of the amp and to ALL speakers connected to it. So that is not recommended.

4. You can use the EQ in the Kenwood radio if you want, but that will be on top of the curve built into the Sony amp and that factory curve is not able to be defeated. So play at your own peril.... you can always go back to flat if you want.

5. If you decide to pull out the Sony amp and go all aftermarket, you need to flash Maestro over and uncheck the Amplifier box in the OEM systems section. This will defeat the digital fader and allow the Kenwood to fade normally.

Hope this is clear!

Mark
__________________
12V Guy
Automotive Data Solutions, Inc.
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
www.idatalink.com/maestro
www.kenwoodusa.com
12V Guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2013, 05:50 PM   #70
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default

installing dnx890 and maestro no video on cmos 210

Last edited by tjscowboys; 04-20-2013 at 09:51 PM.
tjscowboys is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2013, 05:50 PM
 
 
 
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Join F150 Forum

 

The Mustang Source
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:29 AM.


Copyright 2006 - 20011 F150forum.com
This site is in no way affiliated with the Ford Motor Company.