Go Back   Ford F150 Forum - Community of Ford Truck Fans > Ford F150 Forums > Aftermarket Products, Reviews & Installation > Stereo/Audio
Sign in using an external account
Register Forgot Password?


Reply
 
 
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-25-2014, 01:08 PM   #21
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by matt_m View Post
OK, that sounds familiar on the menu.

I tied into it right at the module. I actually pulled the wire out of the connector. There's a retainer clip in the connector then a tab that will release each pin. Once out, I reassembled the connector, stripped the wire just behind the terminal and connected the pink wire. The whole thing got covered in heat shrink. If I ever go back I just need to cut the pink wire and put the pin back in the connector.

Sounds to me like something is probably wrong with one of the two, but how to determine which I don't know?
I tied into the sync the same place you did. I'm gonna reinstall the factory stuff and see what works. If sync works correctly it's the head unit or maestro.
Drewbaby88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2014, 04:40 PM   #22
F150 Vendor
 
12V Guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Montreal
Posts: 212
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Thanked 56 Times in 42 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Drewbaby88 View Post
I do have the ADS-HRN(SX)-ALL01 installed. I noticed that I needed it while I was looking at the idatalink site. I noticed that Crutchfield does not show that this part is needed too. My Bluetooth OEM setup wont work period. USB in,out, whatever. I will try this afternoon when I can get home to reinstall the OE head unit and see if sync will power up that way. I am getting a green LED on the Maestro unit but no button functionality. The head unit itself is working fine, just cant go into some of the options.

PM me with your contact info. Will call you and get you fixed up. The DDX271 is a first generation implementation of our protocol so it can:


Retain Sync
Retain SW controls and let you assign two functions per button (BTW the PAC interface does not have you interface with the pink/red wire so basically the OK, Phone and Voice buttons on the wheel cannot be used).
Access all Sync Menus - the ones you need are there, but some you might want are not. This is because they were hard-coded into the radio menu screen.


It cannot:
Put text or time on secondary display.
Add Gauges screen
Add Vehicle info screen (with check engine light and TPMS).
Give full access to all the Sync menus

Lots of threads here about what radios do what (my topics search by my user name).


If you want full featured setup, next up radio that can give it is DDX5901HD. This is also AV unit (non-nav) and does not require the ADS-HRN(SX)-ALL01 cable.


In any case, what you have will work. Let me know how to get in contact.


Best,
__________________
12V Guy
Automotive Data Solutions, Inc.
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
www.idatalink.com/maestro
www.kenwoodusa.com
12V Guy is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to 12V Guy For This Useful Post:
Drewbaby88 (03-25-2014)
Old 04-12-2014, 05:04 PM   #23
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default just a quick update

I sent the Kenwood DDX271 and the Maestro back to Crutchfield and ordered a new Maestro and got the DDX5901 instead.


After speaking with 12v Guy, he decided that the Maestro could have been faulty. (probably thanks to me plugging the small BLACK 4 pin plug in the BLUE 4 pin slot. )


Everything works beautifully now and I was up and running in no time! it was a very easy install and the DDX5901 is a much better radio compared to the DDX271.
Drewbaby88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2014, 01:59 PM   #24
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default back down again...

I was going through town today and noticed no steering wheel controls


This is what displays on my secondary display above the head unit now.




12v guy, any ideas??
Attached Thumbnails
Maestro and DDX271-photo-3-.jpg  

Last edited by Drewbaby88; 04-13-2014 at 02:01 PM.
Drewbaby88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2014, 11:18 AM   #25
F150 Vendor
 
12V Guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Montreal
Posts: 212
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Thanked 56 Times in 42 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Drewbaby88 View Post
I was going through town today and noticed no steering wheel controls


This is what displays on my secondary display above the head unit now.




12v guy, any ideas??
You'll have to call in when we can have the install open and do some testing of the wiring. There's got to be something wrong.


PM me when you can work in the truck.
__________________
12V Guy
Automotive Data Solutions, Inc.
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
www.idatalink.com/maestro
www.kenwoodusa.com
12V Guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2014, 12:31 PM   #26
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Casper, WY.
Posts: 1,868
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Thanked 124 Times in 120 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 12V Guy View Post
You'll have to call in when we can have the install open and do some testing of the wiring. There's got to be something wrong.


PM me when you can work in the truck.
While you have the dash open again do a little adjusting on the side mounting brackets to pull in the HU flush with the dash.
__________________
2014 Tuxedo Black F150 XLT Scab 4x4 w/5.0. JVC's in doors. 2 - 10" Kenwood subs under rear seat powered by JL Audio amp
Wyo11Scab is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Wyo11Scab For This Useful Post:
12V Guy (04-14-2014)
Old 04-14-2014, 12:48 PM   #27
F150 Vendor
 
12V Guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Montreal
Posts: 212
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Thanked 56 Times in 42 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wyo11Scab View Post
While you have the dash open again do a little adjusting on the side mounting brackets to pull in the HU flush with the dash.

I was thinking the same thing.. My OCD was kicking in.. thanks for mentioning so I can relax now.
__________________
12V Guy
Automotive Data Solutions, Inc.
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
www.idatalink.com/maestro
www.kenwoodusa.com
12V Guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2014, 01:22 PM   #28
Senior Member
5 Year Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 199
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Thanked 26 Times in 23 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default

Glad I'm not the only one...
matt_m is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2014, 08:45 PM   #29
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default the angle of the HU

I actually have it angled like that because it had a weird glare on it if it was square in the brackets. It bothers the hell outta me too, being angled but its better than not being able to see it sometimes. Catch 22 I guess. HA


Ok, just to update. The SWC came back but I have no info from the apps showing on screen while they are playing nor on the secondary display. it will work for the the radio on some stations but not all. I am going to open up the dash again tomorrow and have 12V guy on the line to see what we can find.
Drewbaby88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2014, 11:58 AM   #30
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Casper, WY.
Posts: 1,868
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Thanked 124 Times in 120 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Drewbaby88 View Post
I actually have it angled like that because it had a weird glare on it if it was square in the brackets. It bothers the hell outta me too, being angled but its better than not being able to see it sometimes. Catch 22 I guess. HA


Ok, just to update. The SWC came back but I have no info from the apps showing on screen while they are playing nor on the secondary display. it will work for the the radio on some stations but not all. I am going to open up the dash again tomorrow and have 12V guy on the line to see what we can find.
I agree that the glare on the HU is bad but I don't look at mine enough to not have it square in the dash
__________________
2014 Tuxedo Black F150 XLT Scab 4x4 w/5.0. JVC's in doors. 2 - 10" Kenwood subs under rear seat powered by JL Audio amp
Wyo11Scab is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2014, 11:58 AM
 
 
 
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Join F150 Forum

 

The Mustang Source
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:48 PM.


Copyright 2006 - 20011 F150forum.com
This site is in no way affiliated with the Ford Motor Company.