Topic Sponsor
Stereo/Audio Come discuss all Ford F150 Stereo and Audio questions here!
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: The Magic Brand

Getting dual subs...what else do i need!?!

Search this Thread

Old 10-08-2010, 08:54 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Getting dual subs...what else do i need!?!

Hey everyone,

So i am getting a dual sub box from supercrewsound.com.

Question1- I believe i need to get a shallow mount sub....but i am stuck between getting 2-10inch vs 2-12 inch. I want the most bass as possible, but because of the limited air space, would 2-10's be more efficient then the 2-12's?

Question 2- I am new to this whole audio upgrade thing, so besides the box and subs and amp, what else do i need? I plan on getting everything myself and then taking it to a professional to get it installed.

Thanks in advanced...

Nyles
***2010 supercrew***
Old 10-09-2010, 08:58 AM

you do not necessarily need shallow mount subs but you will not run into mounting issues with them. there are regular subs that will fit but you need to make sure the basket and magnet will clear. easiest way would be to take the box to wherever you buy your subs and let them see if they will let you test fit them in the box.

as far as other stuff you will need will be: Amp install kit (dont go to wal-mart and buy one of those cheap 30 dollar amp kits, average QUALITY amp kit will cost 75-150 dollars depending on wire gauge, rca cable quality)

you will also need at the very least a line-output converter. there are some nicer ones like the mtx re-q which will get you a little bit better sound quality but a simple line-output converter will be good enough.
Old 10-09-2010, 12:39 PM

Received 147 Likes on 78 Posts

Check out knukonceptz.com's kolossus line for a great value on amp kits. A 4 AWG kit should cover you unless you exceed a draw of 150 amps.

As mrfatride said, you'll need an LOC unless the amp you get has high/speaker level inputs.