Topic Sponsor
Stereo/Audio Come discuss all Ford F150 Stereo and Audio questions here!
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: The Magic Brand

Aftermarket speakers/amplifier install

Search this Thread

Old 10-28-2012, 10:59 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Aftermarket speakers/amplifier install

Hello I'm Landon,

Anyways I have a 2004 F150 lariat 4x4 full cab, and was wandering when installing an external 4 channel amp, do the speaker wires from the speakers (all 4 of them) actually go directly to the amp or do you hook the speakers up to the factory wires like you didn't have an amplifier and were just replacing the OEM speakers with aftermarket speakers. So basically my question is where exactly do the wires from your aftermarket speakers input into the amp, from behind the head unit or from the speakers directly? Thanks.

I understand how to wire a single subwoofer system I am just a super noob when it comes to anything greater then 1 speaker.

On another note I have looked through a lot of threads on this website so sorry if I missed a thread that has already answered this.
Old 10-28-2012, 11:53 PM

I was just sitting here thinking, in a single subwoofer setup you hook the subwoofer wires directly to the amp, then you have your rca + system power wires going to the head unit, so i guess it's the same thing with the aftermarket speakers then? You run all 4 speaker wires to the amp, and then you have two sets of rcas coming from the headunit + the system power wire? Am I correct?

Thanks
Old 10-29-2012, 12:01 AM

Received 14 Likes on 14 Posts

Originally Posted by landon1992
I was just sitting here thinking, in a single subwoofer setup you hook the subwoofer wires directly to the amp, then you have your rca + system power wires going to the head unit, so i guess it's the same thing with the aftermarket speakers then? You run all 4 speaker wires to the amp, and then you have two sets of rcas coming from the headunit + the system power wire? Am I correct?

Thanks