Topic Sponsor
Stereo/Audio Come discuss all Ford F150 Stereo and Audio questions here!
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: The Magic Brand

5x7 or 6x9??

Search this Thread

Old 08-10-2012, 11:02 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 5x7 or 6x9??

So im about to amp up my system in my truck, which in nice words, is weak. Especially after having a 93 prelude with a 12" sub and kenwood Excellon 6 speaker system (All in a car smaller then a civic...)

Now im no pro on the speakers or amps them selves, but the install is fairly basic (I'm an electrician). The questions is, i have a pair of 6x9 kenwoods left from my prelude, do i use them and get another pair of the same. Or, do i get the Alpine Type-R's 5x7's? i want clarity as well as loudness, and the extra couple hundred bucks for new speakers isnt a big deal. Just want to know the major differences between them besides size.

Any input would be great! And if it helps i plan on getting 2 10" type-r's or fosgates....in a few months

Also, how hard is it to cut the factory speaker slots bigger to fit the 6x9's?
Old 08-11-2012, 07:54 AM

Received 2 Likes on 1 Post

https://www.f150forum.com/f30/instal...-doors-164614/

There's a step-by-step on fitting 6x9s in the front doors. Personally if you're going the custom route already, I'd get a good set of 6.5" components and make an adapter plate to mount the mid in the factory spot and put the tweet up in the sail panel or the A-pillar.
Old 08-11-2012, 11:28 AM

Originally Posted by helotaxi
https://www.f150forum.com/f30/instal...-doors-164614/

There's a step-by-step on fitting 6x9s in the front doors. Personally if you're going the custom route already, I'd get a good set of 6.5" components and make an adapter plate to mount the mid in the factory spot and put the tweet up in the sail panel or the A-pillar.