Go Back   Ford F150 Forum - Community of Ford Truck Fans > Ford F150 Forums > Aftermarket Products, Reviews & Installation > Stereo/Audio
Sign in using an external account
Register Forgot Password?


Reply
 
 
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-04-2014, 05:22 PM   #1
Member
 
dmc1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 70
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 5
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default 2013 STX Head Unit Removal/Installation Procedure

Anybody got a good procedure for removing the factory head unit from a 2013 STX, non-nav, basic system? What do I need to do to get the factory head unit out?

I'm going to add a PACFRD24 so I'll have RCA outputs for a Kenwood sound powered amp.
Thanks.
dmc1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2014, 07:30 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Casper, WY.
Posts: 1,814
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 28
Thanked 118 Times in 114 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dmc1 View Post
Anybody got a good procedure for removing the factory head unit from a 2013 STX, non-nav, basic system? What do I need to do to get the factory head unit out?

I'm going to add a PACFRD24 so I'll have RCA outputs for a Kenwood sound powered amp.
Thanks.
Should be the same as my 2011 XLT was. Check youtube.
__________________
2014 Tuxedo Black F150 XLT Scab 4x4 w/5.0 with SCT tune. JVC's in doors. 2 - 10" Kenwood subs under rear seat powered by JL Audio amp
Wyo11Scab is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Wyo11Scab For This Useful Post:
dmc1 (04-05-2014)
Old 04-04-2014, 08:53 PM   #3
Fleet Technician
 
Rnlcomp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: New Orleans, La.
Posts: 7,047
Mentioned: 39 Post(s)
Thanks: 455
Thanked 1,142 Times in 928 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dmc1 View Post
Anybody got a good procedure for removing the factory head unit from a 2013 STX, non-nav, basic system? What do I need to do to get the factory head unit out?

I'm going to add a PACFRD24 so I'll have RCA outputs for a Kenwood sound powered amp.
Thanks.

Does your dash look like this?



If so your SOL because the PAC is not compatible.

.
__________________
2013 XLT S-cab 5.0
Rnlcomp is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2014, 10:32 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
SpeedViktm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Hutto, TX
Posts: 149
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 59
Thanked 16 Times in 13 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default

Pretty easy to do... couple of screws on top under the rubber mat. Pop the two side vent/pocket parts loose. I think there's a screw under the little black panel where the 3.5MM jack is. I haven't had mine apart in a few months.
__________________
Oxford White 2013 F-150 STX SuperCab with 5.0: Airaid Jr. Hellwigs. Flowmaster Force II. SCT Tuner, MPT Tune. 5.0 & Coyote badges. Mustang Covers. 2"/3" drop. FX Wheels and lights. DD3.0. Steelcraft Nerf's. Clarion NX702. Rockford Fosgate 3Sixty.3. Alpine PDX-V9 running Alpine SPR-60C in front & Alpine SPR-68 in back. Kicker CompVT 10" in MTX Thunderform.
SpeedViktm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2014, 11:45 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Casper, WY.
Posts: 1,814
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 28
Thanked 118 Times in 114 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rnlcomp View Post
Does your dash look like this?



If so your SOL because the PAC is not compatible.

.
STX's have the old style dash
__________________
2014 Tuxedo Black F150 XLT Scab 4x4 w/5.0 with SCT tune. JVC's in doors. 2 - 10" Kenwood subs under rear seat powered by JL Audio amp
Wyo11Scab is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2014, 04:55 AM   #6
Member
 
dmc1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 70
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 5
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default

No, mine has the basic system so the PAC will work.
dmc1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2014, 11:14 AM   #7
Fleet Technician
 
Rnlcomp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: New Orleans, La.
Posts: 7,047
Mentioned: 39 Post(s)
Thanks: 455
Thanked 1,142 Times in 928 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dmc1 View Post
No, mine has the basic system so the PAC will work.

__________________
2013 XLT S-cab 5.0
Rnlcomp is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2014, 08:29 PM   #8
Junior Member
 
yamaharacer19's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Michigan
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 1
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default

Let me know how this works out for you!!! I was debating on whether using the PACFRD24 or the LCQ-1 from Audio Control.
yamaharacer19 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2014, 09:00 PM   #9
Member
 
SargeF150's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 46
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Thanks: 19
Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default

Ill be installing a double din on my STX as well. I opted to go with the Parrot Asteroid Smart for the head unit.
SargeF150 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2014, 05:17 PM   #10
Member
 
dmc1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 70
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 5
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default

Removed my radio this morning and installed the PACFRD24 and my Kenwood sound powered amp. What a difference! Anybody thinking about putting a amp on their stock head unit this is the way to go. Plug and play. Allows the use of RCA plugs. No searching for speaker wires for speaker level inputs. Very easy install just takes a little time. Came out great and sounds 10 times better.
dmc1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2014, 05:17 PM
 
 
 
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Join F150 Forum

 

The Mustang Source
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:03 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2006 - 20011 F150forum.com
This site is in no way affiliated with the Ford Motor Company.