Go Back   Ford F150 Forum - Community of Ford Truck Fans > Ford F150 Forums > Aftermarket Products, Reviews & Installation > Stereo/Audio
Sign in using an external account
Register Forgot Password?


Reply
 
 
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-09-2013, 05:08 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: San Diego
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default 2013 f-150 stx

Does anyone know if the stock radio ( head unit ) have RCA outputs. I want to install an 800 watt amp to a couple 10"subs. If they don't have RCA's what r my other options.
Thanks for any suggestions
Mopedmafia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2013, 06:56 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Casper, WY.
Posts: 1,861
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Thanked 122 Times in 118 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mopedmafia View Post
Does anyone know if the stock radio ( head unit ) have RCA outputs. I want to install an 800 watt amp to a couple 10"subs. If they don't have RCA's what r my other options.
Thanks for any suggestions
No stock Ford radios have RCA's. You need to tap into the speaker wires or use a low level adapter to feed your amp. Also tap into the fuse box for a switched turn on lead.
__________________
2014 Tuxedo Black F150 XLT Scab 4x4 w/5.0. JVC's in doors. 2 - 10" Kenwood subs under rear seat powered by JL Audio amp
Wyo11Scab is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2013, 07:05 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
bigred90gt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Baytown, TX
Posts: 647
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 86 Times in 54 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default

I have a PAC AOEM-FRD24 plug and play adapter in my 2013 STX, no nav no Sony with sync. Works like a charm, all functions still work same as factory. I've got both sets of RCAs to my 4 channel amp running my door and back speakers (single cab) and the line out from that amp to the external crossover, then from the crossover to the sub amp.

If you intend to keep the stock head unit, the PAC is the best option, unless you want to get into cutting wires.
bigred90gt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2013, 10:20 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
SpeedViktm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Hutto, TX
Posts: 152
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Thanked 16 Times in 13 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bigred90gt View Post
I have a PAC AOEM-FRD24 plug and play adapter in my 2013 STX, no nav no Sony with sync. Works like a charm, all functions still work same as factory. I've got both sets of RCAs to my 4 channel amp running my door and back speakers (single cab) and the line out from that amp to the external crossover, then from the crossover to the sub amp.

If you intend to keep the stock head unit, the PAC is the best option, unless you want to get into cutting wires.
Ditto, kind of... have the same type device in my Mazdaspeed3, works like a champ!!
__________________
Oxford White 2013 F-150 STX SuperCab with 5.0: Airaid Jr. Hellwigs. Flowmaster Force II. SCT Tuner, MPT Tune. 5.0 & Coyote badges. Mustang Covers. 2"/3" drop. FX Wheels and lights. DD3.0. Steelcraft Nerf's. Clarion NX702. Rockford Fosgate 3Sixty.3. Alpine PDX-V9 running Alpine SPR-60C in front & Alpine SPR-68 in back. Kicker CompVT 10" in MTX Thunderform.
SpeedViktm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2013, 06:22 PM   #5
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: San Diego
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default

I have installed many simple cd player with an amp and sub systems but never on a newer truck. So now my question is can someone tell me what a PAC is and how much $ and where I can get one. I want to keep the stock head unit doesn't have Sony,and doesnt have nav system either. Nothing too crazy I just want to throw a couple jl audio 10's. in with an amp.
Thanks
Mopedmafia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2013, 07:17 PM   #6
KAC Shooter
5 Year Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: West Palm Beach, FL
Posts: 3,563
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 38 Times in 34 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mopedmafia View Post
I have installed many simple cd player with an amp and sub systems but never on a newer truck. So now my question is can someone tell me what a PAC is and how much $ and where I can get one. I want to keep the stock head unit doesn't have Sony,and doesnt have nav system either. Nothing too crazy I just want to throw a couple jl audio 10's. in with an amp.
Thanks

https://www.google.com/search?q=PAC+...hrome&ie=UTF-8
__________________
2013 Ecoboost Black on Black FX2 SCREW - Stainless Works chambered exhaust, Airaid Intake, SCT X3, Aeroforectech gauge.
2007 Black on Black SCAB sold 14 Sept 13
1996 Thunderbird LX 14.17@98mph sold 13 Oct 12
obusnizzle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2013, 10:28 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 135
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Thanked 16 Times in 12 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bigred90gt View Post
I have a PAC AOEM-FRD24 plug and play adapter in my 2013 STX, no nav no Sony with sync. Works like a charm, all functions still work same as factory. I've got both sets of RCAs to my 4 channel amp running my door and back speakers (single cab) and the line out from that amp to the external crossover, then from the crossover to the sub amp.

If you intend to keep the stock head unit, the PAC is the best option, unless you want to get into cutting wires.
I want to do the same thing and I've got the PAC, so where did you hook your amp output to your speakers?
mike d is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2013, 08:48 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
bigred90gt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Baytown, TX
Posts: 647
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 86 Times in 54 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mike d View Post
I want to do the same thing and I've got the PAC, so where did you hook your amp output to your speakers?
I ran new wires from the amp to the speakers and just zip tied the stock plugs out of the way to nearby objects.
bigred90gt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2013, 09:41 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 135
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Thanked 16 Times in 12 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bigred90gt View Post
I ran new wires from the amp to the speakers and just zip tied the stock plugs out of the way to nearby objects.
Sounds good! Glad to here the PAC works on the 2013 basic audio system.
mike d is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2013, 10:17 AM   #10
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default

I got a line out adpt for a similar setup, but cant find a wire diagram for the two plugs into the radio. which color did you use for the right and left +/-? also anyone know if there is a 12v into the radio that i can slice my remote wire into? thanks
Blacknd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2013, 10:17 AM
 
 
 
Reply


Tags
2013, stereo

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Join F150 Forum

 

The Mustang Source
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:21 AM.


Copyright 2006 - 20011 F150forum.com
This site is in no way affiliated with the Ford Motor Company.