2013 amp install - No cutting of factory harness - Page 4 - Ford F150 Forum - Community of Ford Truck Fans



2013 amp install - No cutting of factory harness

Reply
 
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-09-2014, 06:55 PM   #31
Fleet Technician
 
Rnlcomp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Big Easy
Posts: 14,396
Thanked 2,663 Times in 2,090 Posts
Default

Well the other connector is not fully populated either so I will order another and use it as a donor. One thing I did notice is that it is only minus 2 pins so that will leave me with 9 extra donor pins that I may possibly use to make more harnesses.

.
Rnlcomp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2014, 01:15 AM   #32
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 19
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rnlcomp View Post
Well the other connector is not fully populated either so I will order another and use it as a donor. One thing I did notice is that it is only minus 2 pins so that will leave me with 9 extra donor pins that I may possibly use to make more harnesses.

.
Which other connector?
mgp777 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2014, 06:25 AM   #33
Fleet Technician
 
Rnlcomp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Big Easy
Posts: 14,396
Thanked 2,663 Times in 2,090 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mgp777 View Post
Which other connector?
The female (harness side) connector.

.
Rnlcomp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2014, 06:44 AM   #34
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 19
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rnlcomp View Post
The female (harness side) connector.

.
So the 71-5524 comes fully populated but the 70-5524 is missing 2 pins.
Is that correct?
mgp777 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2014, 04:10 PM   #35
Fleet Technician
 
Rnlcomp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Big Easy
Posts: 14,396
Thanked 2,663 Times in 2,090 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mgp777 View Post
So the 71-5524 comes fully populated but the 70-5524 is missing 2 pins.
Is that correct?
For the 70-5524 to be fully populated would require 12 pins. However there are only 2 pins that need to be added for it to work.

.
Rnlcomp is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Rnlcomp For This Useful Post:
BStrummin (07-11-2014), mgp777 (07-11-2014)
Old 07-11-2014, 03:06 PM   #36
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: NorCal
Posts: 401
Thanked 107 Times in 73 Posts
Default

Jumping to this thread hoping for a 2014 harness.
So is this correct:
70-5524 - plugs into HU
71-5524 - plugs into truck harness

But they are not showing up fully populated so some adding of pins/wires needs to happen?
BStrummin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2014, 03:18 PM   #37
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 23
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BStrummin View Post
Jumping to this thread hoping for a 2014 harness.
So is this correct:
70-5524 - plugs into HU
71-5524 - plugs into truck harness

But they are not showing up fully populated so some adding of pins/wires needs to happen?

I believe You have it backwards. I think you need (2013 model)
2 of the 70-5524 to make one populated enough to plug into harness
1 of the 71-5524 which comes fully populated to plug into OEM head unit.

I don't think anyone has successfully done this as of yet. I am still waiting on harnesses to show up in the mail.
bwhf150 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2014, 04:12 PM   #38
Fleet Technician
 
Rnlcomp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Big Easy
Posts: 14,396
Thanked 2,663 Times in 2,090 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bwhf150 View Post
I believe You have it backwards. I think you need (2013 model)
2 of the 70-5524 to make one populated enough to plug into harness
1 of the 71-5524 which comes fully populated to plug into OEM head unit.

I don't think anyone has successfully done this as of yet. I am still waiting on harnesses to show up in the mail.

Ditto.

.
Rnlcomp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2014, 04:15 PM   #39
Fleet Technician
 
Rnlcomp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Big Easy
Posts: 14,396
Thanked 2,663 Times in 2,090 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BStrummin View Post
Jumping to this thread hoping for a 2014
I could only guess the 14 to be the same, you would have to get a wiring diagram to be certain.

Soon as my connectors arrive I will be making a few prefab harnesses up for others so all they would have to do is wire amp accordingly and plug it in. I will make them look as oem as possible obviously and all connections soldered not crimped.

Once I prove this out on my truck I will then release to the public.

.
Rnlcomp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2014, 01:12 AM   #40
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 97
Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts
Default

I couldn't find what connectors I needed so I just pulled the radio out of my new 2014 and cut the 4 pair of wires and tied in my LC7i and kenwood amp and pioneer sub. Sounds great it wasn't hard at all.
Firedaniel is offline   Reply With Quote
 
 
Reply

Related Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Intro and part questions LostAndFound General F150 Discussion 27 11-06-2016 04:24 PM
Need audio experts! Kalen427 Stereo/Audio 34 01-24-2016 04:54 PM
F-150 Audio System kmpconley 2009 - 2014 Ford F150 19 09-26-2015 12:00 AM
XLT Leather Console Lid? (Console, not Bench Seat) StanF 2009 - 2014 Ford F150 4 09-04-2015 10:40 AM
audio gurus and/or people with opinions liinxcore 2009 - 2014 Ford F150 11 09-02-2015 10:22 PM


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:14 PM.


Copyright 2006 - 2016 F150Forum.com