Topic Sponsor
Stereo/Audio Come discuss all Ford F150 Stereo and Audio questions here!
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: The Magic Brand

2010 Sony factory system upgrade questions

Search this Thread

Old 08-29-2012, 09:54 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 2010 Sony factory system upgrade questions

Tired of posts about people paying for the Sony system upgrade, and then it never being good enough? Me too. But here's another wall of text.

Before I start, I should say that I've read a considerable amount of info and still have yet to locate anything along the lines of what I'm asking. Just looking for some more friendly advice. This is a 2010 fx4 screw with the sony system without nav.

Also, whatever I do I'm somewhat leaning towards paying someone to install it. Assume I have no knowledge of car audio.

That out of the way, I've poly filled the sub according to this thread and, if for any reason you haven't done it, please do. It makes a considerable difference and couldn't be any easier.https://www.f150forum.com/f38/how-ma...-better-77667/

Truth be told, I love the way it sounds at about 1/4 volume. My beef is with the sub cutting out at beyond 50%. All I'm looking to do is give it the same sound at all volumes.... for as cheap as possible without sacrificing any more space inside the cab and retaining the factory head unit and steering wheel controls. Is this even possible?

I read in the thread above some vague things people have done, but no real detail. If you have any experience with this, please help me to understand what I can do to save this system. Any help is greatly appreceated... and thank you to anyone who took the time to work their way through this wall of text.
Old 08-29-2012, 10:10 PM

One last thought, I absolutely adore this setup.https://www.f150forum.com/f30/2012-sub-upgrade-began-today-137577/

But would this work on a 2010 where the amp is mounted on the side of the sub and not in the center console?