Go Back   Ford F150 Forum - Community of Ford Truck Fans > Ford F150 Forums > Aftermarket Products, Reviews & Installation > Stereo/Audio
Sign in using an external account
Register Forgot Password?


Reply
 
 
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-10-2010, 12:54 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default 2009/10 F150 replacing sony sub

Hello fellow F-150 owners. Has anyone replaced the 8" subwoofer in the Sony 700W system? I feel the bass is ok, but not great and was wondering if simply replacing just the speaker in the box will yield improvements.

Cheers,
S.
Stokie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2010, 01:20 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
GATORB8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Arlington Heights, IL
Posts: 4,976
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 2
Thanked 116 Times in 68 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default

Some guys replaced the audiophile 8s in the 04-08s with minimal results until they incorporated an aftermarket amp. You may want to play with replacing the sub and amp, but by the time you do that, it normally is more cost effective to step up to an aftermarket single 10 setup and get significantly better results.
__________________
GATORB8 - 2006 Smokestone Scab Lariat 4x4 5.4 - Viper Smartstart|AVS Ventvisors|Tint|Drop In Bedliner|PIAA Back-up Lamps|CIPA Tow Mirrors|ranchitout shifter cover|Wood Steering Wheel and Dash Kit|WeatherTech Floor Liners|Pioneer Premier TS-D720C|Peerless 10" XXLS|Qlogic Qcustom|Kenwood eXcelon KAC-X4R|Knukonceptz.com wiring|Escort QI45|MBRP Catback|Superchips Flashpaq|K&N Drop In|Optima Red Top|Tekonsha Brake Controller|2.5" AS Level/3" Rear Blocks|275/70R18 BF Goodrich All Terrain
GATORB8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2010, 11:04 AM   #3
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default

Thanks Gator. I have the Sync system in my truck and I'm not sure what the effect would be if I pull the stock amp. On we go with more research!

Appreciate the feedback.

Regards,
S.
Stokie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2010, 11:13 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
GATORB8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Arlington Heights, IL
Posts: 4,976
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 2
Thanked 116 Times in 68 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default

It's fairly standard for Ford to use small 1 channel amps close to the subs (this is how it works in the 04-08 F150s and the Mustang Shaker 500 and 1000). In that case, you probably already have a subwoofer RCA/Low level signal back at the amp, and you could put an aftermarket amp back there without even pulling the head unit.
__________________
GATORB8 - 2006 Smokestone Scab Lariat 4x4 5.4 - Viper Smartstart|AVS Ventvisors|Tint|Drop In Bedliner|PIAA Back-up Lamps|CIPA Tow Mirrors|ranchitout shifter cover|Wood Steering Wheel and Dash Kit|WeatherTech Floor Liners|Pioneer Premier TS-D720C|Peerless 10" XXLS|Qlogic Qcustom|Kenwood eXcelon KAC-X4R|Knukonceptz.com wiring|Escort QI45|MBRP Catback|Superchips Flashpaq|K&N Drop In|Optima Red Top|Tekonsha Brake Controller|2.5" AS Level/3" Rear Blocks|275/70R18 BF Goodrich All Terrain
GATORB8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2010, 08:42 PM   #5
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default

Have we done it yet? I too would like to beef up the bass without messing Anything else up on my New 2010 Lariat CrewCab F150.

jess
dizydiz@gmail.com
dizydiz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2010, 02:51 PM   #6
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default

I haven't done it yet. But I did go to a local reputable audio shop and asked for some advice. They recommended replacing the entire sub unit with 2 x 8" downfiring subs (under drivers' side) or 1 shallow mount 10" (under passenger side) driven by an aftermarket amp and something like a JL Audio Cleansweep or a Rockford 3Sixty. Suggested that if I wanted to keep the cargo space to go the 10" route. While I was there, he was working on a Ferrari with 2 x 8" Focal subs. He fired it up and damn!!!
Stokie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2010, 02:58 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
GATORB8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Arlington Heights, IL
Posts: 4,976
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 2
Thanked 116 Times in 68 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Stokie View Post
I haven't done it yet. But I did go to a local reputable audio shop and asked for some advice. They recommended replacing the entire sub unit with 2 x 8" downfiring subs (under drivers' side) or 1 shallow mount 10" (under passenger side) driven by an aftermarket amp and something like a JL Audio Cleansweep or a Rockford 3Sixty. Suggested that if I wanted to keep the cargo space to go the 10" route. While I was there, he was working on a Ferrari with 2 x 8" Focal subs. He fired it up and damn!!!
You don't have to limit yourself to 8s or a Shallow 10, check out Fox's new box for a full size 10 or 12. http://www.f150forum.com/f30/new-200...b-boxes-56000/
__________________
GATORB8 - 2006 Smokestone Scab Lariat 4x4 5.4 - Viper Smartstart|AVS Ventvisors|Tint|Drop In Bedliner|PIAA Back-up Lamps|CIPA Tow Mirrors|ranchitout shifter cover|Wood Steering Wheel and Dash Kit|WeatherTech Floor Liners|Pioneer Premier TS-D720C|Peerless 10" XXLS|Qlogic Qcustom|Kenwood eXcelon KAC-X4R|Knukonceptz.com wiring|Escort QI45|MBRP Catback|Superchips Flashpaq|K&N Drop In|Optima Red Top|Tekonsha Brake Controller|2.5" AS Level/3" Rear Blocks|275/70R18 BF Goodrich All Terrain
GATORB8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2010, 10:19 PM   #8
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default

on the factory sub and amp,if you take that sub and amp out and upgrade with say a 1000 watt amp is the power wire that is already their sufficient enough,or would you have to run all new power wire to the battery,and what about rca cables for the amps and the remote wire,can somebody explain please.
platinum10psl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2010, 10:25 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
GATORB8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Arlington Heights, IL
Posts: 4,976
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 2
Thanked 116 Times in 68 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default

Depends on the gauge of the factory wire, but I would recommend running a new power wire for anything over 100W RMS or so.
__________________
GATORB8 - 2006 Smokestone Scab Lariat 4x4 5.4 - Viper Smartstart|AVS Ventvisors|Tint|Drop In Bedliner|PIAA Back-up Lamps|CIPA Tow Mirrors|ranchitout shifter cover|Wood Steering Wheel and Dash Kit|WeatherTech Floor Liners|Pioneer Premier TS-D720C|Peerless 10" XXLS|Qlogic Qcustom|Kenwood eXcelon KAC-X4R|Knukonceptz.com wiring|Escort QI45|MBRP Catback|Superchips Flashpaq|K&N Drop In|Optima Red Top|Tekonsha Brake Controller|2.5" AS Level/3" Rear Blocks|275/70R18 BF Goodrich All Terrain
GATORB8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2010, 09:30 PM   #10
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by GATORB8 View Post
Depends on the gauge of the factory wire, but I would recommend running a new power wire for anything over 100W RMS or so.
understandable now what about the remote wire and rca cable,i would love to keep my stock navigation unit and put a amp for the subs and a amp for the mids and highs.
platinum10psl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2010, 09:30 PM
 
 
 
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2010 Platinum - Replacing stock Sony sub - New amp and subs TWENTYten PLATINUM Aftermarket Products, Reviews & Installation 1 08-15-2010 11:57 PM
2009 Platinum with sony nav mkbb 2009 - Present Ford F150 2 01-14-2010 03:40 PM
Replacing Oil Pan for 99 F150 g_alvarado1 1997 - 2003 Ford F150 0 05-18-2009 03:19 PM
replacing my f150 elscorcho General F150 Discussion 1 08-15-2008 04:39 PM
Replacing brake booster '91 F150 kawilson918 1987 - 1996 F150 5 01-05-2008 10:36 AM

Join F150 Forum

 

The Mustang Source
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:52 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2006 - 20011 F150forum.com
This site is in no way affiliated with the Ford Motor Company.