Topic Sponsor
Stereo/Audio Come discuss all Ford F150 Stereo and Audio questions here!
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: The Magic Brand

2 Memphis 15-SC10D4's... need help with amp

Old 02-17-2011, 02:13 PM

Received 8 Likes on 7 Posts
Default 2 Memphis 15-SC10D4's... need help with amp

So like it says I have my mind set on two of the Memphis 15-SC10D4's in a supercrewsound box... I'm very new to car audio and am having a little trouble deciding what amp to run the subs off of. My main concern is that I don't want to under/over power the subs, and am hoping some of the audio experts on this site could give me some assistance.

I am looking at a Alpine MRP-M500 for the amp right now. The subs run at 300 watts RMS, and the amp runs 300 watts RMS at 4 ohms and 500 watts RMS at 2 ohms. What I've gathered from reading online is that with this setup if I bridge the amp to these two subs that should be good. I don't know the technicalities but that is the just of what I have been hearing. Any validation to that advice or no? If not what amp should I be looking at?

I appreciate all the help guys!
Old 02-17-2011, 02:25 PM
First Tiger of G.R.O.S.S.

Received 12 Likes on 11 Posts

If you were to wire them this way:

You'd get a 4 0hm load on your amp, giving you 300W... The speakers can handle more, but I don't think you'd notice a difference with a bigger amp. you could wire them in a 1 0hm load, but that amp is not stable at 1 0hms according to the documents on their website.
Old 02-17-2011, 11:07 PM

^^ thanks for the diagram hobbes. Makes it easier to have a visual.
Old 02-18-2011, 04:57 AM

One other thing... I keep hearing about capacitors and how much they help save your electrical system. My system isn't going to be using massive amounts of wattage, so do I really need one, or are they primarily used just for hi watts systems? Opinions?
Old 02-18-2011, 10:24 AM

Received 22 Likes on 21 Posts

Originally Posted by chris_bryan_89