Topic Sponsor
Introductions New to the site? Introduce yourself!

Newby

Search this Thread

Old 04-19-2014, 12:22 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default Newby

Hey Guys!
Just reporting in for my very first experience in a forum.
I'm a retired teacher (Welding Technology) and computer illiterate, but manage to struggle through what seems necessary.
I'm an antique gear head who hasn't done much of anything other than light general maint on vehicles since the 80's. Used to do a lot of drag racing in the 60's-70's. We could stay with the Pro Stock bunch 'til they got to the mid-lo 9 sec mark. Too scientific after that.
Currently, I have my retirement gift... 2010, F-150, King Ranch, 5.4. Have added K&N air, magna flow, and Bilstein shocks on rear. Haven't done the front yet. Just being lazy here. This brings a question...front Bilsteins come with very little instruction. Three rings come with shocks for ride heights. I want to keep front at current level. "How many of the rings will keep front at stock height?"
Have watched several "how to" You-Tube videos about front shock replacements.
Anybody have any recommendations, short-cuts, personal experiences?

Looking forward to the Forum experience!
Old 04-19-2014, 09:21 PM

Received 234 Likes on 229 Posts

Welcome from SoCal. As a retired contractor and a backyard mechanic this is a great place to share ideas. Post your shock question under a new thread in the Maintenance section. Good luck
The following users liked this post:
Justhunt12 (04-20-2014)
Old 04-20-2014, 03:25 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Thank you, and my Forum learning curve aims upward.
Old 04-21-2014, 12:00 PM

Received 562 Likes on 481 Posts

Welcome! And just take your time, you'll learn the flow of the forum soon enough. Every forum is like an extended family, you'll have a few quacks, but most are pretty good guys.

Myself excluded, I'm just an ***.
Old 04-21-2014, 12:13 PM
Resident Worm Drowner

Received 90 Likes on 63 Posts