Topic Sponsor
Introductions New to the site? Introduce yourself!
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: DashLynx

New user, intro and some questions

Search this Thread

Old 01-17-2015, 02:36 PM

Received 61 Likes on 30 Posts

Default New user, intro and some questions

Hello everyone. I just registered here and figured I would do an introduction, as well as ask a few questions I have.

My name is Mike, I'm 32, live in Tinton Falls NJ, and I have been a Ford fan in general since I was 17 and had my first car, a 1991 Mercury Cougar 5.0, which I still have. I'm also an ASE Master Certified mechanic, so I look forward to helping people on here try to diagnose any problems, as well as possibly bouncing some odd ones off of others here. I was never much of a truck fan, always preferred a lowered fast car, but I needed a truck for work, so about a year ago I picked up my 01 F150, and it has been great! I was looking for this truck for a long time actually. I knew I needed a truck, but I'm not one for off-roading (nowhere to do it in NJ anyway), and I knew I would be putting a ton of miles on it, plus I just can't deal with an automatic trans, so I was looking for a regular cab, short bed, 2WD, with a manual trans, that wasn't completely rusted apart. I finally found the truck about a year ago. It was everything I wanted, except it was a V6. My aunt has a 98 F150 4WD automatic 4.6, and that thing is a slug, so I was a little worried that the V6 wouldn't have enough power, but it turns out with the manual trans, it is actually quicker than my aunt's with the 4.6, and while I'm definitely not winning any races, it has enough power for any job I have tasked it with so far, including towing over 6K pounds! Anyway, I bought the truck about a year ago with 167K on it, practically stole the thing. I paid $1500 for the truck, with 4 brand new tires and a rhino-lined bed. I did have to replace the intake gaskets, sway bar links, inner and outer tie rods, and lower ball joints, and then over t