Topic Sponsor
Introductions New to the site? Introduce yourself!
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: DashLynx

new member with a leak problem....that doesn't sound right.....

Search this Thread

Old 11-15-2007, 04:00 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default new member with a leak problem....that doesn't sound right.....

Hello Everyone! I'm new to all this so be easy on me. I'm Jim and I live in Lawrenceville Georgia. I own a 2004 F150 supercrew so I should be qualified to be here. The reason I joined was to learn more about my truck and to find out why I have leak in it. It started out with no heat about a week or so ago so I figured heater core. But there's no antifreeze smell. There's really no smell at all except for maybe a very slight mildewy smell from water that's apparently been there a while. Sometimes I do have heat. So here's the dilemma: I have heat and not much of a leak. I don't have heat and I have a bunch of water. This all leads me to believe that I have a clogged condensate line. BUT, I have no clue where to look to blow it out if that's the problem! I feel like I'm 'car savy' so I should be able to locate it. It seems more like my problem is the motor or gear that opens and closes the 'flap' that switches from heat to cold and verse-visa. Has anyone else had this problem? I'm on and off the internet so if I don't answer right away, it's 'cause I'm BUZY! Thanks for any help!
Old 11-15-2007, 04:33 PM

Received 111 Likes on 59 Posts

Welcome! I havent had that problem *knock on wood*
Sorry I cant help you. But good luck getting it figured out.
Old 11-15-2007, 05:40 PM

Received 212 Likes on 192 Posts

Water is a normal sign of A/C operations, particularly in high humidity areas.

Coolant is a sign of a leak.