Topic Sponsor
Introductions New to the site? Introduce yourself!
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: DashLynx

Jonathan Mallard 1991 Ford F-150 4.9L San Antonio

Search this Thread

Old 04-02-2015, 09:16 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Jonathan Mallard 1991 Ford F-150 4.9L San Antonio

New to forum, lurker for a while now.

I am a National Guard Soldier living in San Antonio Area. I was Active Army for 5 years and have been in the guard going on 6 years. I am a Medic Sargent in 1/141 HHC 36th Inf. I work at the Boerne Home Depot and I am a student at UTSA. I am going for teaching.

I work on my truck regularly at Randolph Air force Base in their hobby shop its a such a great benefit I use it regularly.

I just bought a 1991 F150 4.9L Straight six manual transmission with the super cab. I needed it for my new business running a booth at the local gun shows selling TA-50 (Ruck sacks, Pistol Belts, Sleeping bags) I even can make custom name tapes while you wait. I paid $800 for a running truck off of craigslist so i don't have much to complain about.

It does have some issues however.

the main issue is the major idling issue.

It takes a few cranks to start and then goes to 2000 RPM then down to 500 and tries to die. its constant and when driving i have to keep RPM up to keep the ride kind of comfortable.

Ive cleaned the throttle body replaced the MAP sensor and TPS sensor. still a constant issue. the EGR looks new or at least the guy i bought the truck from said it was replaced recently. I read on this forum about looking into possible vacuum leaks. where do i start to look?

It gets kind of jumpy when shifting in the low gears. but i am new to manual trans so it might be the operator.

when sitting idling after driving a distance it can maintain 1k RPM but listening to the engine you can kind of hear some popping, or at least that's the best i can describe it.

Other issues rather minor

The Brake light stays on even though its clearly not.