Wiring In fog lights - Ford F150 Forum - Community of Ford Truck Fans



Wiring In fog lights

Reply
 
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-24-2011, 08:12 AM   #1
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
sostraightup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Alberta
Posts: 17
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Lightbulb Wiring In fog lights

Ok so I just bought some Rigid Industries Led fog lights & mounted them to my truck. I mounted 2 under the back of my truck for reversing & two up in the grill. I was going to hook the 2 in the back to my reverse light but decided to leave them on toggle in case I want to turn them on when checking my sled or just to light area up. I think thats a good way to go any thoughts? Ok so heres my problem I need to wire them in but where, they come with toggles which i would like to use but I wonder if I need to hook them up to a only on when key is on or constant power? Where do I tie them in for either, plz help tnx
sostraightup is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2011, 08:35 AM   #2
Senior Member
5 Year Member
 
2000xl_toronto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Oshawa, Ontario
Posts: 1,696
Thanks: 0
Thanked 9 Times in 5 Posts
Default

best way to do it would be to get one of those fuses from a parts store that fits into your factory fuse panel and wire it off of that. Tapping into other power leads gives you the potential for more problems down the line.
2000xl_toronto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2011, 02:39 AM   #3
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
sostraightup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Alberta
Posts: 17
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Yeah I agree, I was thinking about just tying the two sets of lights & just hook them directly to the battery, worse case I leave them on & drain the battery but it should be a lot less hastle, just have to remember to turn them off.
sostraightup is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2011, 03:00 AM   #4
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
sostraightup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Alberta
Posts: 17
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

[IMG]file:///C:/Users/Toplap/AppData/Local/Temp/moz-screenshot-5.png[/IMG][IMG]file:///C:/Users/Toplap/AppData/Local/Temp/moz-screenshot-6.png[/IMG]
sostraightup is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2011, 03:02 AM   #5
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
sostraightup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Alberta
Posts: 17
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Under For backing up & checking loads, gonna build little mud flaps to prevent damage from rocks
sostraightup is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2011, 03:03 AM   #6
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
sostraightup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Alberta
Posts: 17
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Adjustable if needed & out of the way, just have to protect them
sostraightup is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2011, 10:06 AM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Platteville, WI
Posts: 60
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 2000xl_toronto View Post
best way to do it would be to get one of those fuses from a parts store that fits into your factory fuse panel and wire it off of that. Tapping into other power leads gives you the potential for more problems down the line.
i"m trying to do something similar. How do you wire off of a fuse in the fuse box. I'd like to do one that constinatly has power, I'm trying to wire some lights into my tool box.
WI-F150 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2011, 12:39 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
RES4CUE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Manassas Va
Posts: 9,420
Thanked 1,499 Times in 1,192 Posts
Default

Where did you get them and for how much?
RES4CUE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2011, 04:15 AM   #9
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
sostraightup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Alberta
Posts: 17
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by WI-F150 View Post
i"m trying to do something similar. How do you wire off of a fuse in the fuse box. I'd like to do one that constinatly has power, I'm trying to wire some lights into my tool box.

They are called add a fuse, up here in Alberta you can get them at like canadian tire places like that,
Amazon Amazon
sostraightup is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2011, 04:20 AM   #10
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
sostraightup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Alberta
Posts: 17
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RES4CUE View Post
Where did you get them and for how much?
I got them at a supply shop, check out their site its like military applications and stuff pretty kewl. Now I have not ran power to them yet but I can't wait, just got my rock guards built for them i'll post install pics & with them working as soon as i get them wired in, paid 225 canadian for a pair of them. http://www.rigidindustries.com/
sostraightup is offline   Reply With Quote
 
 
Reply

Related Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How To: 2015 F-150 Front Bumper/Tow Hook Removal boozinbuzz 2015 - Present Ford F150 7 06-02-2016 02:25 AM
I have a problem with my truck CyghHale 1997 - 2003 Ford F150 9 09-08-2015 05:28 PM
Need Help ASAP!!! Blacksheep331 1997 - 2003 Ford F150 30 09-08-2015 09:19 AM
Want to Buy [North Central]: front bumper Krack499 2009 - 2014 Part Sales 6 09-06-2015 11:11 AM
Where to buy LED Foglight? Anyone do yellow? larry_chip 2015 - Present Ford F150 0 09-02-2015 09:13 PM


Tags
fog lights, wiring

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:53 PM.


Copyright 2006 - 2016 F150Forum.com