Default trailer running lights keep blowing 20 amp fuse

I cant seem to find the problem any ideas
Old 03-28-2011, 11:15 AM
No Pain, No Pain!

Received 10 Likes on 8 Posts

Originally Posted by grasskicker
I cant seem to find the problem any ideas
The fuse on your truck's fuse panel?
Sounds like a short somewhere in the wiring harness for the trailer plug, but I am not an electrical expert. I am sure someone here will be able to offer some better suggestions. You can help them by giving us more detail about the truck you are hooking up to and the make/model of the trailer.

Good luck!
Old 03-28-2011, 07:58 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Do you have a good ground connection between your truck and trailer?
Old 03-29-2011, 08:22 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default trailer running lights only

The coonection seems fine if i plug it in and move the cable around its fine its when i start rolling that it flickers then goes out
Old 03-29-2011, 11:53 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

OK, first off is it just the trailer lights or both truck and trailer lights? If it is just the trailer then there is a few things to look for.
1) short in trailer wiring harness
2) bad plug coming from truck (corrosion or frayed wires)
3) bad plug on trailer wiring harness (corrosion or frayed wires)

Now if there is a problem with truck tail lights, this could also be causing trailer lights to fail also. Start by checking the items above. If nothing bad there move on to these next steps.
Now, not knowing what year your truck is, I'm going to tell you that Ford had some problems with wirng harnesses on a few years aroung '03. I know this from experience and have talked to a few friends and people that had the same problems I did. But not to worry, it is a pretty easy fix. OK, here are the next steps to take, but remember this is just if only if both truck and trailer lights are malfunctioning.