TPMS Calibration information - Page 2 - Ford F150 Forum - Community of Ford Truck Fans



TPMS Calibration information

Reply
 
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-07-2015, 11:57 AM   #11
Fleet Technician
 
Rnlcomp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Big Easy
Posts: 15,083
Thanked 2,781 Times in 2,187 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by KR Kodi View Post
Yes - FINALLY the 2015 F150 will join most of the rest of the automotive world and display the actual tire pressure in the cluster display!!






.

Those with the 4" screen in the center cluster could also display it if someone @ Ford would write it in the IPC programming and offer it but it would also make owners take it in to the dealer because the only way to apply said programming is with IDS.


I doubt many would pay an hour labor for it.
Rnlcomp is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2015, 01:34 PM   #12
Internet Geezer
5 Year Member
 
gDMJoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Timbuk3, MI
Posts: 6,280
Thanked 1,112 Times in 861 Posts
Post

Quote:
Rnlcomp - Or......... < pic' of tire gauge >
PSI / faulty sensor
.
gDMJoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2015, 12:05 AM   #13
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 9
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Well, Those are all great answers and solutions but, it seams like the sensors only go off while I'm driving on the freeway. I just cant see crawling on the hood of my car at 65 MPH with a decoder trying to find out which tire is low.
I was looking at some software on Google Play to run on my Android Phone but they don't work. The phone wants to pair with the sensors or pair with the Bluetooth receiver for the sensors.
I guess there's no way of connecting the SYNC to the TPMS is there?
Thanks for the reply's Guys

Last edited by Electroteck; 06-21-2015 at 12:10 AM.
Electroteck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2015, 09:30 AM   #14
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 137
Thanked 20 Times in 14 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Electroteck View Post
Well, Those are all great answers and solutions but, it seams like the sensors only go off while I'm driving on the freeway. I just cant see crawling on the hood of my car at 65 MPH with a decoder trying to find out which tire is low.
I was looking at some software on Google Play to run on my Android Phone but they don't work. The phone wants to pair with the sensors or pair with the Bluetooth receiver for the sensors.
I guess there's no way of connecting the SYNC to the TPMS is there?
Thanks for the reply's Guys


So did you stick a tire pressure gauge to find out which tire is low or are you looking for techy solution for a manual get on your knees problem?
mk99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2015, 11:01 AM   #15
Internet Geezer
5 Year Member
 
gDMJoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Timbuk3, MI
Posts: 6,280
Thanked 1,112 Times in 861 Posts
Post

Quote:
Electroteck - Well, Those are all great answers and solutions but, it seams like the sensors only go off while I'm driving on the freeway. I just cant see crawling on the hood of my car at 65 MPH with a decoder trying to find out which tire is low.
I was looking at some software on Google Play to run on my Android Phone but they don't work. The phone wants to pair with the sensors or pair with the Bluetooth receiver for the sensors. I guess there's no way of connecting the SYNC to the TPMS is there? Thanks for the reply's Guys
Would recommend checking the tires' pressures using analog means (MEANING - tire gauge) and adjusting the PSI if necessary. If no tire is found to be out-of-range, then there is the possibility that you could have a faulty TPMS sensor - the dealership would be able to determine this using their OTC (or equivalent) tool.

The other possibility is that you have some electronic device plugged-in while you're driving that is causing interference with the TPMS sensor(s). There are several that could cause this.
.
gDMJoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2015, 12:20 PM   #16
Fleet Technician
 
Rnlcomp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Big Easy
Posts: 15,083
Thanked 2,781 Times in 2,187 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gDMJoe View Post
The other possibility is that you have some electronic device plugged-in while you're driving that is causing interference with the TPMS sensor(s). There are several that could cause this.
.


On the same page as this, a guy I work with has an 09 F150 and every single time he gets to a certain spot on the hwy his tpms warning light pops on, no loss of pressure in any of his tires so we pretty much nailed it to something in that specific area that is giving off RFI (radio frequency interference).
Rnlcomp is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2015, 05:12 PM   #17
Senior Member
 
llangarica's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Escondido California
Posts: 566
Thanked 62 Times in 54 Posts
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by KR Kodi View Post
Yes - FINALLY the 2015 F150 will join most of the rest of the automotive world and display the actual tire pressure in the cluster display!!






.
dang... my moms 2006 jeep grand cherokee has this.. lol. it eve tells you the psi on the spare. Ford FINALLY caught up!! lol
llangarica is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2015, 12:40 PM   #18
Junior Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 9
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default

Yes Everyone. I have put a tire gauge on them to verify the low tire pressure.
The problem I having is the front passenger side tire. It's the one that always reports a low tire pressure. Now, this happens at various places along several different routes, so I don't believe it's RF interference problem.
There are times where I am putting air in every other day. and some times its every other week.
I have my suspicions that someone is letting the air out. No, The tire center check the tire, they tell me There good, no leaks.
Now, I shouldn't have to put a tire gauge on them every time I want to use the truck. Hence. why they put the sensors in the tires in the first place.
What I am looking for is some way to have the tires report to me all the tire information before I get out on the road, so I don't have to stop twenty or thirty miles later to put air in just because the light comes on.
And No. I don't plan on buying a new 2015 truck just to have the update tire information.
Thanks Guys
Electroteck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2015, 01:35 PM   #19
Senior Member
 
Wiggum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 1,802
Thanked 445 Times in 339 Posts
Default

I have to admit ... I'm pretty amazed that our trucks don't already have this ... I mean, at LEAST have it indicate which tire is the one that's getting the low-pressure reading ... if not also displaying the actual tire pressure of ALL tires at any given time.

Vehicles have been doing this for a while now, and our trucks SHOULD be doing the same.
Wiggum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2015, 01:46 PM   #20
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Euless, Tx
Posts: 2,578
Thanked 286 Times in 253 Posts
Default

Buy a Kenwood receiver and install it with the iDatalink Maestro. Problem solved.
Cost $ more than a tire gauge though.
http://www.ford-trucks.com/forums/12...-solution.html
Feathermerchant is offline   Reply With Quote
 
 
Reply

Related Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2014 grille possibilities & my build MEADE 2009 - 2014 Ford F150 27 10-23-2016 11:37 AM
33x12.5x20 with ONLY a leveling kit michaellake 2009 - 2014 Ford F150 16 10-04-2015 04:19 AM
How to access OBD Lockelamora 2015 - Present Ford F150 1 10-01-2015 06:15 PM
Good Deal? yones12 2009 - 2014 Ford F150 3 09-30-2015 11:40 PM
Speccing New Wheels and Tires For 2012 XLT Brian419 Wheels & Tires 2 09-29-2015 03:04 PM


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:19 AM.


Copyright 2006 - 2016 F150Forum.com