Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

I need truck advice

Search this Thread

Old 08-12-2015, 12:45 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default I need truck advice

Hey Everybody,

I have made it through college and two years of working driving my girly Mazda 3 and now it's finally time for a truck. I drove my dads f150 in High School and want another one. But I am really stuck with where the value is at in the market.

My budget is 20k. Where should I try to end up at? An older model with low miles or a newer model with high miles? I'm planning on keeping the truck until it dies. I prefer the crew cab, even though I hate giving up the bed space. Is the larger wheelbase on the screw with 6.5ft bed hard to drive? I hate to admit it, but I have been driving my golf cart of a mazda for the past 7 years.

I have been told that the 2004-2008 models had some issues and that it is best to avoid them in favor of the gen up if budget allows. Is that true?

2009-2014 are almost out of my price range, unless I pick up one with higher miles.

Any advice is much appreciated,
Aaron
Old 08-12-2015, 02:01 AM

Received 135 Likes on 110 Posts

Originally Posted by Aarhud09
My budget is 20k. Where should I try to end up at?
In a low mileage vehicle that will last you X years that you need it to.
Don't over finance yourself into an unnecessary liability with high mileage.

As much as I like the newer trucks, I would never allow myself to get one until I was financially able to do so. 50,000 miles has always been my cutoff on used vehicles. I only typically bought in the 25,000-35,000 miles used range tho. That changed after Cash for Clunkers because it jacked up the used vehicle market badly.

You're far better off buying an older vehicle (7+ years) with super low miles that has depreciated massively. Find one in a non-salt belt state that will have a solid body, and has been massively depreciated. Best to have cash and simply goto the auctions with someone that has access IMHO.