Go Back   Ford F150 Forum - Community of Ford Truck Fans > Ford F150 Forums > General F150 Discussion
Sign in using an external account
Register Forgot Password?


Reply
 
 
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-01-2008, 11:41 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Corona, California
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default how do i change the code on the keypad entry??

i bought my truck used from a dealer, but i never got the code for the outside kepad entry. Is there a way to make a new code???
robert4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2008, 12:24 AM   #2
We'd do it
 
Just call me Sean's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Orlando,Fl.
Posts: 31,272
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Thanks: 29
Thanked 371 Times in 331 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Send a message via Yahoo to Just call me Sean
Default

The code should be on a card in the factory manual booklet. If you don't have the book then there are others that say it is written in certain locations of the truck but I can't remember what those locations were. Someone should be around to tell you, or you can search to find the older posts on the subject. You can program a new code but the dealer has to do it.

Be sure to list your year truck so others can better help you.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Early Cuyler
Fights begin, fingerprints are took, days is lost, bail is made, court dates are ignored, cycle is repeated.
Just call me Sean is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2008, 01:01 AM   #3
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Corona, California
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default

alright thanks.

the truck is a 2006 lariat
robert4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2008, 11:36 AM   #4
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default

The factory location of the code is on the door lock module located behind the rear seat (in my crew cab f150) It is directly on top of it. I found instructions on how to remove the seat by searching key terms within f150 forum.
kenmoore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2008, 10:29 AM   #5
08 February TOTM
5 Year Member
 
whitecrystal1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Dumfries, VA Member: #77
Posts: 3,184
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 6 Times in 2 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default

You cannot change to code, you can add a new code so that it's easier for you to remember but the old one will still work. You need the original code to program a second one. What year and cab configuration is your truck?

Quote:
Originally Posted by kenmoore View Post
The factory location of the code is on the door lock module located behind the rear seat (in my crew cab f150) It is directly on top of it. I found instructions on how to remove the seat by searching key terms within f150 forum.
Yep, this also applies with the crew cab too.
__________________
.
whitecrystal1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2008, 11:50 AM   #6
Humoctopus
 
rcaddell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default

You CAN Change the code if so inclined. it requires removing the keyless entry module and changing the resistors that determine the code. A little more work than it is worth though.
rcaddell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2008, 03:12 PM   #7
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by whitecrystal1 View Post
You cannot change to code, you can add a new code so that it's easier for you to remember but the old one will still work.
So, if I buy used the original owner and anybody they may have told can access my truck?
Tupperware is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2008, 06:26 PM   #8
08 February TOTM
5 Year Member
 
whitecrystal1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Dumfries, VA Member: #77
Posts: 3,184
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 6 Times in 2 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tupperware View Post
So, if I buy used the original owner and anybody they may have told can access my truck?
Yes... unless you go through the trouble and change the resistor in the keyless entry module like said above. I've never heard that was an option but it does make since that that is a way to wipe the old code and start fresh, other than just changing out the whole module.
__________________
.
whitecrystal1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2008, 05:02 PM   #9
Senior Member
5 Year Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Henderson, NV.
Posts: 4,636
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default

Just a thought to eliminate original keypad number. Cut the wire from one of the pads buttons. Lt bl/yel is from the 1-2 button. Reprogram as mentioned earlier. Make sure it works. Now cut the wire from the 1-2 button. Just make sure the new combo does not use the button being eliminated. If I make my self clear.
Good old Bill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2008, 09:22 AM   #10
Humoctopus
 
rcaddell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bill Wiltshire View Post
Just a thought to eliminate original keypad number. Cut the wire from one of the pads buttons. Lt bl/yel is from the 1-2 button. Reprogram as mentioned earlier. Make sure it works. Now cut the wire from the 1-2 button. Just make sure the new combo does not use the button being eliminated. If I make my self clear.
Negative. Cutting the wire from a button that is part of the hard code after you set a soft code will only work temporarily. As soon as the battery is disconnected codes revert back to factory only. All soft codes are lost and need to be reprogrammed. With the cut wire, you would effectively dismantle the keypad feature. You could, of course, reconnect that wire (when you cut it put some connectors on each end for easy plug in/unplug), reset your soft codes, disconnect the wire. However, if you are going through that much trouble, you might as well reprogram the box by changing the resistors.
rcaddell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2008, 09:22 AM
 
 
 
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Keypad Entry hankfan79 2004 - 2008 Ford F150 14 02-26-2012 07:05 PM
keypad help dubdslamd 2004 - 2008 Ford F150 20 05-13-2010 07:48 PM
Keypad code Rob MFK 2004 - 2008 Ford F150 18 01-29-2010 03:17 PM
Keypad handles?? hankfan79 2004 - 2008 Ford F150 3 08-03-2008 09:46 AM
Keyless entry code help 5150fordfan 1997 - 2003 Ford F150 2 12-04-2007 08:33 AM

Join F150 Forum

 

The Mustang Source
All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:40 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2006 - 20011 F150forum.com
This site is in no way affiliated with the Ford Motor Company.