General F150 Discussion General Ford F150 truck discussions and questions
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

How to change a fuel pump on a 2003 F-150

Old 12-17-2008, 02:26 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default How to change a fuel pump on a 2003 F-150

Hello,
I am new to the forums. My truck is a 2003 F-150 with 34,000 miles on it. My check engine light came on yesterday and I took it to the dealership. They told me that my pump was only pushing 4 psi of fuel through it and it needed to be changed. My qestion is, wouldn't I notice this big drop in pressure with the perfomance of my truck? My truck starts fine, and runs perfect. My fuel consumption hasn't changed either. Long story short, I am a senior in college and dont have the $750 dollars to pay for them to do it. Does it need done right away and is it something that is easily done? I am not a mechanic, but have a good idea of how stuff works. I am studying mechanical engineering. What is the consequences of not changning it and it going completely out?
Thanks,
David

Last edited by davidtatum3189; 12-17-2008 at 02:31 PM.
Old 12-17-2008, 02:42 PM
Notorious Thread Editor

Received 20 Likes on 7 Posts

Originally Posted by davidtatum3189
Hello,
I am new to the forums. My truck is a 2003 F-150 with 34,000 miles on it. My check engine light came on yesterday and I took it to the dealership. They told me that my pump was only pushing 4 psi of fuel through it and it needed to be changed. My qestion is, wouldn't I notice this big drop in pressure with the perfomance of my truck? My truck starts fine, and runs perfect. My fuel consumption hasn't changed either. Long story short, I am a senior in college and dont have the $750 dollars to pay for them to do it. Does it need done right away and is it something that is easily done? I am not a mechanic, but have a good idea of how stuff works. I am studying mechanical engineering. What is the consequences of not changning it and it going completely out?
Thanks,
David