General F150 Discussion General Ford F150 truck discussions and questions
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

hissing air vacuum line

Search this Thread

Old 09-22-2008, 02:28 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default hissing air vacuum line

I have a 1986 F150 XLT v8 302. My truck runs great, but before dozens of expensive trips to the a master mechanic it was old and neglected with a lot of wiring problems and it appears some other things just wore out. Right now there is a air hiss where the brake pedal goes through the firewall. The brakes work fine, soft and great stopping power. I am not a mechanic and don't mind taking this to one as a last resort but would like to work on fixing this if I can as the mechanic I use is really really expensive for some things. I read a post on here about possibility of cruise control vacuum line. Mine has the cruise. How do I check this and if not that what else...step by step?

GJ
Old 09-22-2008, 08:03 PM

Received 211 Likes on 191 Posts

Not sure that the cruise control vacuum line goes through the firewall. Thinking maybe the vacuum supply for the HVAC controls? If this were a significant vacuum leak, would think the idle speed would be increased, so thinking it's one of the smaller lines.

If you can hear the hiss - suggest to start feeling around and wiggling hoses until you hear the noise characteristics change.
Old 09-22-2008, 08:29 PM

Received 27 Likes on 25 Posts