Topic Sponsor
Super Duty Forum Talk about Super Duty and Heavy Duty Ford trucks here.

F250 purchase opinions please

Search this Thread

Old 03-04-2010, 05:17 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default F250 purchase opinions please

I have tyhe opportunity to purchase a 1990 F250 w/ a 7.3 diesel.The milage is unknown and the truck has a problem w/ its fuel system.I work on marine diesels for a living so I feel I can get the truck to run.Current owner tried to get the truck to run,but its beyond his experience.The truck body is decent for a work truck and has a new clutch in it.Does anyone think its worth 1000.00 and it will be towed to my house to fix.I would like to others opinions on it.Thanks
Old 03-04-2010, 07:01 PM

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

I'd offer 750 and if not walk away
Old 03-04-2010, 10:50 PM
Ford Test Driver

Well from personal experience I know that the 7.3s can go for a few hundred thousand but like conman said you are in a good place to bargain and possibly get yourself a good truck for a good price.
Old 03-05-2010, 12:14 AM

In addition to it not running too well, the 7.3 is the old idi non turbo, decent motor, more reliable than the 6.9 but not very powerful as it is naturally aspirated
Old 03-06-2010, 01:27 AM
Ford Test Driver

Agreed my buddy has one in his 93 f150 and I believe that it is the international and I know that it doesnt have a turbo. Takes a while to get up to speed but it works pretty good for what he does with plowin and towin skid steers and that good reliable engines. Have one in one of my delivery trucks and the thing had 260k on it when I bought it and I just got home from doing deliveries with the clock reading 295k
Old 03-07-2010, 08:56 PM