Topic Sponsor
Pre- 1987 / Classic Corner Have a classic Ford F150 truck? Want a classic? Discuss your pre-1987 Ford F150 truck.

Something draining battery

Search this Thread

Old 01-31-2009, 01:02 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Something draining battery

Hello...a newbie here. I have a 1984 F150, 302 w/auto which belonged to my dad (he bought it new). It's in good condition considering it's age and use but one problem is driving me crazy. Something is draining the battery. It will drain it down fairly quickly too, sometimes overnight (of course what I've been doing is removing the negative battery connection to prevent this).

Here's what I've done so far: (1) removed all the fuses one at a time...no help (2) installed a new alternator...no help (3) installed new voltage regulator and starter relay (solenoid)...no help.

My next "stab in the dark" seems to be to replace the starter and bendix. Could this cause a problem like this? If that doesn't solve the problem I really don't have a clue as what to do next.

Any thoughts or suggestions would be appreciated.
Old 01-31-2009, 02:49 PM
DrTito

Default what uses power

I would check all the power add ons, such as power windows,locks, and your radio/sterio(if you have a sound system check the blue wire/remote to the amplafiers it turns off/on the units is connected right) all so make sure every thing is off.

It takes time if you have a volt tester it helps.

you said you checked the fuses or pulled them out??
Old 01-31-2009, 08:33 PM

Originally Posted by DrTito
I would check all the power add ons, such as power windows,locks, and your radio/sterio(if you have a sound system check the blue wire/remote to the amplafiers it turns off/on the units is connected right) all so make sure every thing is off.

It takes time if you have a volt tester it helps.

you said you checked the fuses or pulled them out??