Topic Sponsor
Pre- 1987 / Classic Corner Have a classic Ford F150 truck? Want a classic? Discuss your pre-1987 Ford F150 truck.

Fuel Injected 4.9 Engine Swap into 1977 F150

Old 01-11-2009, 11:32 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Fuel Injected 4.9 Engine Swap into 1977 F150

Hello to all, I am a recent newbie member to your community but an avid Ford lover for years. In fact thats about all Ive owned and was even formly a Ford certified technician. My 2 current vehicles are a 1990 Mustang GT with a worked 306 and 4 wheel disc brakes and a 1977 F150 4x4 with gears, lockers and an NP435. My new project with the truck is swapping over the 1993 4.9 engine, computer, harness, fuel tank and lines from a complete donor truck I bought. I wanted to start this thread so I can post information to everyone about the projects ups and downs and share some first hand experience with the technicial side of things. Also if anyone else has ever done this before or is curious what its about please feel free to add to this post. I do have 1 request or question right off the bat...... The clutch equilizer rod on my 1977 that feeds the NP435 is slipped right into a boss in the side of the engine block. The newer 1993 F150 is an automatic but the casting of the block is different so that this boss for that shaft is not there. Could someone email or post a picture of the clutch setup from theyre truck so I can get a better idea what Ford cranked out over the years?????????? Im thinking that something like an 1984-1987 truck might have a similair setup. Thanks to all and keep on eye on this post cause it will turn out great.
Attached Images   
Old 01-12-2009, 12:09 AM
We'd do it

Received 448 Likes on 402 Posts